Cider Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I've made this every New Years for the past three years and everyone loves it. I use apples, pears, and cubes of crusty bread. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is a GREAT recipe!! I've made it several times and it always turns out nice and smooth. It's so good with apples, pears and bread - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I made 2 fondues, and this was the real hit at the party. The flavor of this fondue was really good, but the texture had lumps of swiss cheese that did not properly melt. It might have been the type of swiss I used (baby swiss, because aged swiss was not available). I will definitely try this recipe again because the flavor was so good, and try to work out the texture problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
first fondue i've ever made and its sooo good and simple! coated the cubes of cheese with flour instead of cornmeal. used bread, green apple slices, brocoli and smoked sausage and roasted some herb potatoes as dippers. very good and everyone loved it =}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
We use this recipe on a regular basis. The mixture tastes great and is much cheaper than most. I do add a little garlic powder, use flour instead of cornstarch and hard apple cider instead of regular. The green apple is best. I serve this recipe with bread, mushrooms, celery, and italian seasoned chicken cubes. They're great to mix and match like kabobs too! Oh Yeah, I also add a little bit of garlic powder to my mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I haven't had fondue in probably close to 15 years, and my husband has never had it. I found it appealing because I had both cheeses in the fridge already. I served this with steak done in a balsamic vinegar and red wine sauce (and cubed homemade French bread) and it was absolutely fantastic! I did alter the recipe just a bit - instead of cider, I used non-alcoholic Alpine Spice wine. It is made by a Pennsylvania winery and is a blend of Chardonnay, Johannisberg Riesling and 'spices.' I figured this would be safe after reading that some folks had used white wine, and others had used spiced cider....this wine falls between the two. I used flour in place of the corn starch - cubed the cheese and put it in a tupperware with flour and pepper and tossed it to coat the cheese. I also crushed a small clove of garlic into the cheese mixture. An absolutely fantastic recipe. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Loved it! Giving it five stars even tho I modified b/c this recipe gave me a solid base. Rubbed the inside of the fondue pot w/ garlic before cooking, subbed beer for cider, and tossed the cheese w/ flour instead of corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This fondue was tasty. My husband and I did a "fondue night." I decided to make this fondue instead of some of the others since it would be less expensive. I rubbed the pot with garlic and then used Hornsby in place of regular cider. I served it with sliced smoked sausage, broccoli, asparagus, mushrooms, carrots, french bread, apples and pears. All were good with it except the mushrooms, carrots, and pears. I also used flour instead of corn starch. I would definitely make this again and might even try experimenting with beer instead of cider or try using different cheeses. There were two of us eating it as dinner and we still had half left. We were so full afterward, we never got around to making the chocolate fondue we planned on making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Ryskamp Wightman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
WOW! I have always made my cheese fondue with wine. I decided to make this one because we had several little kids eating with us on New Year's Eve (along with many adults). People RAVED about this. It was fantastic. We ended up quickly making another batch after everyone devoured what we had made. I took someone's tip and served bread cubes and pepperoni and everyone loved that. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
We just made this, following the recipe exactly, and while the flavor was great, it was really stringy. So, we put it back on the stove (double boiler) and added more apple cider, which I had heated in the microwave per another reviewer's suggestion, and that did the trick. The 3/4 cups of cider just wasn't enough to make the fondue creamy, but it turned out perfect after I added about 1/4 cup more. I would suggest starting with the 3/4 cups and slowly incorporating more heated cider if the texture does not seem right. Next time, I will try some of the other suggestions, such as rubbing the pot with garlic first and using flour over cornstarch; however, all of us really enjoyed the flavor as is. Had the texture been perfect without adding more cider, I would have given this 5 stars. It truly was wonderful to find a cheese fondue that did not call for alcohol, so this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States