Cider Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
We used this recipe in our electric fondue with a couple changes. We rubbed the pot with cut garlic before adding the hard cider (home brewed). We let that boil before tossing in the cheddar/swiss mixture that was tossed with flour (rather than cornstarch) and pepper. We've used this recipe for company and for ourselves and is excellent. Use french bread that has been cut into cubes that has sat out for a half day to make it easier for dipping. Apple slices go well with this cheese as well. We'll be using this recipe regularly for fondue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Easy and Delicious Recipe for Fondue. Affordable - cheddar and swiss are not as expensive as some of the other cheese fondue recipes that call for gouda etc. My Changes - which worked fine if not better: 1. Used flour instead of cornstarch 2. Added garlic powder 3. Had extra apple juice/cider on hand that I added whenever the cheese became clumpy. I probably added another 1 cup full throughout the dinner. However, definately warm it up in the microwave before adding or else it cools the cheese. If anything it enhanced the flavors of the cheese 4. Worked well in an electric fondue pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I'd never made fondue before, and I was glad to find this recipe. I used 4 cups of cheese (around 1-3/4 cups of swiss and 2-1/4 cups of smoked cheddar), 1½ TBS of flour, a few good shakes of pepper. We dipped apple slices, carrot sticks, pepperoni slices (AWESOME!), and bread (the store's bakery had a big bag of dipping/appetizer-sized sliced bread pieces the PERFECT size for fondue). It was really good. My husband thought the smoked cheddar-apple juice mix was a bit sweet, but both my daughter and I really enjoyed it. Nice to find a recipe that doesn't call for processed cheese or wine! Thanks for sharing, Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I'm giving this a four because my husband LOVED IT! He ate most of it infact. For me it was ok, but I expected something different. I think I will make it again for company and get more opinions. Update 11/2/07 - Tried this again, but replaced the cheddar cheese with Gruyeye and Emnenthaler cheese. It was delicious!! Husband and company all raved - loved the cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Now I understand that this is not exactly a traditional fondue recipe and I can see why some people may snub it because of its lack of ueber expensive cheeses. But really, this is excellent! I had a few people over that I knew would not fully appreciate the fine and delicate taste of a traditional cheese fondue. As I was hesitant to be spending 40 dollars on the appetizer for our dinner, I resorted to this much more economical choice and I was very glad I did! The apple juice adds a great flavor to the cheese, I did add a little lemon juice to this to keep it from getting stringy and added the flour to the cheese before adding to the liquids. I ended up making 3 batches of this! We dipped pumpernickel, rye, and sourdough bread into this, (my favorite is the pumpernickel with this recipe) It was also great with pretzels. Definately a great recipe if you dont want to break the bank.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
First attempt at making fondue and I was pleased with the results! We used a nice brown ale instead of the cider and I think it gave the fondue a WONDERFUL flavor! Used Kraft 2% cheddar and a nice gouda instead of the swiss - it was just delicious served with cubes of herb bread and apple wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This was just brilliant! I used flour instead of cornstarch and it worked just fine. When it got a bit too thick after sitting in the fondue pot a while...I warmed some addition cider in the microwave and stirred it in just a little at a time. We used Italian bread and lil smokies to dip...was outstanding and soooo simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe was GREAT! I'm a novice in the kitchen and this fondue was simple and quick and tasted wonderful. We tried it this Thanksgiving as an alternative to serving breakfast. I used Gruyere, Gouda, and a Cheddar/Swiss combo-served with lil' smokies, french garlic bread, pears, apples, and broccoli. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Absolutely delicious and easy! I added a pinch of kosher salt and garlic powder to bring out the flavors a bit more. Everyone loved it. It was a great inexpensive way for the kids to experience fondue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This was so easy and tasted wonderful. The cider was a great touch. I used Italian bread for dipping. My son and daughter-in-law loved it. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States