Cider Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was great! I used half apple juice, half white wine for the liquids. I used a mini crockpot and just microwaved the liquids and cheeses together in the crock part for a couple of minutes, then moved it to the heating unit on high and stirred every now and then until it was smooth. Super easy and really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kirksville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Easy and Delicious Recipe for Fondue. Affordable - cheddar and swiss are not as expensive as some of the other cheese fondue recipes that call for gouda etc. My Changes - which worked fine if not better: 1. Used flour instead of cornstarch 2. Added garlic powder 3. Had extra apple juice/cider on hand that I added whenever the cheese became clumpy. I probably added another 1 cup full throughout the dinner. However, definately warm it up in the microwave before adding or else it cools the cheese. If anything it enhanced the flavors of the cheese 4. Worked well in an electric fondue pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
First attempt at making fondue and I was pleased with the results! We used a nice brown ale instead of the cider and I think it gave the fondue a WONDERFUL flavor! Used Kraft 2% cheddar and a nice gouda instead of the swiss - it was just delicious served with cubes of herb bread and apple wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Excellent! Came together perfectly, stayed smoth and creamy even as it cooled down.Kids and grownups all loved it! Used some left over fondue mixed with shredded cheese in a grilled cheese sandwich... oh my goodness!!! So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUEJACKSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I'd never made fondue before, and I was glad to find this recipe. I used 4 cups of cheese (around 1-3/4 cups of swiss and 2-1/4 cups of smoked cheddar), 1½ TBS of flour, a few good shakes of pepper. We dipped apple slices, carrot sticks, pepperoni slices (AWESOME!), and bread (the store's bakery had a big bag of dipping/appetizer-sized sliced bread pieces the PERFECT size for fondue). It was really good. My husband thought the smoked cheddar-apple juice mix was a bit sweet, but both my daughter and I really enjoyed it. Nice to find a recipe that doesn't call for processed cheese or wine! Thanks for sharing, Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was very yummy but the cornstarch made it WAY TOO THICK. I made a second batch withOUT the cornstarch and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe was GREAT! I'm a novice in the kitchen and this fondue was simple and quick and tasted wonderful. We tried it this Thanksgiving as an alternative to serving breakfast. I used Gruyere, Gouda, and a Cheddar/Swiss combo-served with lil' smokies, french garlic bread, pears, apples, and broccoli. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Tasty, and was a sinch to make in our fodue pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenmarea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
OK so I just made this again for the 3rd time and wow I made it even simpler. I got a cheddar, monteray jack and asadero chees mix and used spiced cider and it was fantastic!!! my original post is below. This was a GREAT recipe! I made it for a party but had to make it the next day in a much smaller batch to try it myself because by the time I had a chance to try it the entire double batch had vanished! I served it with mini hot dogs, apple, beer bread, french bread and broccoli. A total hit I printed out the recipe at the party because it was so talked about. Super easy to make it was creamy and smooth both times. Financially reasonable unlike many recipes for cheese fondue that I found and no alcohol was involved. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana Vitoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States