Cider Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I made this just as described, except with flour instead of the Corn starch. First of all, it takes a LOT more than 4-5 min on low heat to get the cheese to melt and not be gooey clumps (as I read one reviewer say btw). If you let it go longer (more like 15-20 min) it is fabulous! One word of warning though. Don't let it cool down, before eating. It WILL get very clumpy then you will be not happy. Even if you try to reheat. Just make it as is, giving it plenty of time over low heat to melt. Took a bunch of peoples advice, and served it with sliced Granny Smiths, French bread, and Little Smokies, and it was a HUGE hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I thought this was awesome fondue! I used Woodchuck hard cider in place of the apple juice/cider and it came out wonderful. I had it warm in the crockpot when my husband and neighbors came in from a chilly football game and everyone loved it! Served it with sliced smoked turkey sausage, sliced apples, beer bread cubes, and broccoli and cauliflower florets - YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Thought this was pretty good. Had to add extra cider since it thickened up way too much. My kids didn;t like the cider (but i really think they didn't like the swiss cheese. But i ate the rest and enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Everyone at our party enjoyed this recipe. Leftovers make an excellent cheese sauce for broccoli, potatoes, whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Delicious! I made this for a fondue party with my girlfriends and everyone loved it! So much so that it was almost the star of the show (can't compete with chocolate covered strawberries, of course)! I did, however, have to keep adding cider or milk to keep the consistency manageable from time to time. Will definitely be making this one again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
My hubby and I really liked this recipe. He loves cider so I knew that he wouldn't mind the slightly sweet taste. The texture came out very creamy and smooth. I served two kinds of bread, steamed veggies, and little smokey sausages with the fondue. The smokeys were the best, the combo of the salty smokey sausage with the slightly sweet cheese was wonderful! Thanks for a great wine free recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Great change-up from the traditional swiss/white wine fondue I've grown accustomed to. My husband liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Definitely quick and easy. Maybe I'm just not a fan on fondue. I did add a little garlic, but generally it was just bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This is pretty good, and really simple to make. I made it in the microwave. I heated the apple juice in a glass measuring dish until it boiled, and then added all the other ingredients and stirred. Cooked at medium power and stirred every 30 seconds, until the cheese melted. Then transferred to my slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Great fondue! We also rubbed the pot with cut garlic. I loved the apple cubes even better than the baguette with it which surprised me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States