Cider Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was really great! My husband and I made it on New Years and had some bagel pieces with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was very good. I was glad to find a recipe without alcohol in it. We didn't miss it at all. I used flour instead of cornstarch. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Easy and very good. This is the first fondue recipe I ever made, and I was pleased with the result, though I wish it was slightly thicker. I used apple cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Fuchsia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was my first cheese fondue, and I was thoroughly disappointed. I'm pretty sure I followed all of the directions exactly, but maybe my pot was too hot or too cold. I did double the recipe, so maybe that made a difference. Others seemed to have no problem, so I'll chock it up to user error. It turned out to be a gooey, stringy mess. At first it looked like we were doing fine, then the more I stirred the bigger the gigantic cheese clump. I ended up running to the store last minute for some velveeta [hanging head in shame] because folks were showing up and I didn't want all the cheese dippers to go to waste. I'm just glad the cheeses weren't really expensive, because I would have cried. I didn't give it 3 stars just because of my mistake, either. I tried a bit before it was inedible, and it seemed to me to be lacking something. Maybe garlic as others suggested, but I thought it just seemed kinda flat, just sweetened cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
These LOOKED great! However, I found them to taste like they came out of a factory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
My family begs me to make this recipes all the time. I made it for birthdays, honeymoon, christmas, and family dinners they absolutely love it i like to experiament with other cheeses like i will use the cheddar and swiss and sometimes throw in some bree or smoked gouda i would give this recipe a 5 star rateing except the do not have the right protioning of liquid or cornstarch but thats an easy fix if you have ever made a gravy before you will have an idea of what to do also i think the recipe needs garlic powder and some seasoning salt. I pair it with steamed broccoli, lil smokies, french bread and apple peices and my family just begs for more. My mother in law use to have fondue from famous chefs in france and she still prefers mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne Meier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is the first fondue I've ever cooked, and it turned out great! I used flour instead of cornstarch, Hornsby Cider instead of apple cider, and added miced garlic. It came together so well and tasted so good! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I would recommend using less swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Agree with other reviewers, in that... Change the corn starch to flour. Let it slow cook more than the 4-5 min suggested, otherwise it will not melt. The flavor is SO good, and so unique. I served with bread cubes, apples, sausages, and I also had a fresh raw veggie plate out too (with another dip), that people were dipping into it! Eat it all once cooked, cause it definately does NOT re heat well, but turns into a big gooey clump. Am giving it only 3 stars for the goody clumpiness which was tricky. The flavor, however, was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States