Ciabatta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I really enjoyed this - was my first bread recipe that used a sponge. I was surprised to read peoples "sticky" comments - I found the sponge to be like playdough and the dough just seemed normal. I have another sponge going right now, so I'll be more careful with my measurements. Absolutely delicious. I made a big fat turkey/swiss/avocado sandwich and loved every bite!!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Definitely a wet dough, but the loaves came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I've only tried this once. I put it in the oven during preheat and the bread came out very flat. Still yummy bread regardless of appearance. Want to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was my first time attempting to make this delicious bread to accompany a soup. The result was fantastic. A little time consuming, but all the more worthwhile. A perfect recipe to bake and take to a friend's house. It keeps well and was wonderful fresh out of the oven or sliced and toasted a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Good, very time consuming though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
what a great recipe! I have been 'feeding' and caring for the original sponge when I first made this recipe for over a month now. my BF asks me to make 'that wonderful bread' again and again. so easy, now that the sponge is in the fridge! and you only need take it out a day or so ahead. I just can't rave enough about this. would give it ten stars if I could! :) thanks so much for sharing this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhymeswith16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robyn
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Superb! I love the texture of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Delicious! Next time we will knead it longer for a airier texture as others have suggested. As the loaves were cooling down, I drizzled the tops with butter and added a bit of salt. We can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSA650

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This is a wonderful bread recipe. However, as written, I cannot seem to get the airy/puffy texture associated with this type of bread. I have tried the recipe twice as it is written. According to a person familiar with bread-baking, the dough must be kneaded for quite some time to get the airy texture. So, in my quest to achieve the perfect consistency, I intend to knead/rise/knead/rise/shape/rise/bake. I'll see if the additional "knead/rise" adds some puff to the bread. Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Excellent taste, simple to make, and if you bake for five more minutes, the crust is coarser and a little more flavorful. I know, it is a matter of preference. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States