Ciabatta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Easy to follow recipe that yields satisfactory results for a first time ciabatta baker like me. However the crust is not "crusty" enough, i think, like the fluffiness of the interior though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoom_star

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jem2000
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Fabulous! My sponge sat for 16 hours. I split the dough in two and baked on a sheet pan sprayed w/ cooking spray and dusted with cornmeal. It is very important to remember the dough is supposed to be wet and sticky, otherwise you wont get the nook and cranny texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Sponge: The water/flour ratio was a little off; due to high altitude. Had to adjust to 2/3 c. warm water to 1 c. flour. Didn't get alot of CO2 action (large bubbles/holes) but got a few; the texture however was awesome. Crispy, chewy and so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Made 6 loaves over the course of 2 days, it is that good! Everyone in the neighborhood loved it. The only change I made was using half and half for the milk. Bread is flavorful with a lovely crunchy crust. Let it rise the full recommended time to get the bubbles formed correctly and handle the dough gently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
At first, I thought this was too soft for what I wanted, but perhaps I should have baked it a little longer. Toasted, and topped with fresh tomato, salt and pepper, fresh basil and drizzled with olive oil and it was sensational! I made it into one big loaf and it was the size I wanted. My husband said it was better than anything we could buy here. I made it again using half ww flour, and it still turned out perfectly, a little heavier, which is probably more what I wanted. The dough is very sticky (ciabatta dough is supposed to be), but I added just enough extra flour to make it workable. I find it quite easy to make the starter, put it in the fridge and forget about it for about a day. I am already being asked when I'm making that delicious bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachmaree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Really good, and I only let the sponge go 5 hours cause I just couldn't wait any longer. Mine got a little darker than I wanted but the flavor was Amazing! It is a VERY sticky dough but the oven works the magic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
A fair amount of fussing to make this bread but it sure is tasty and the texture is so chewy and soft at the same time. It makes 2 nice loaves enough for 8 nice panini sandwiches, if you so choose. I just cut into very thick slices, sliced those in 1/2 and then put Land o Lakes 50% reduced fat butter on the warm bread. Just perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Made the sponge with room temp. water, cover with plastic and just let it sit on the kitchen counter for 8 hrs. Added the rest of the flour (only used all-purpose), salt, more yeast, room temp. milk and water. Stirred and mixed in glass bowl (no mixer) with a silicone spatula. Dough will be on the wet side and gooey like mashed potato from a blender. After the dough rested an hour or so, I only gently turned it onto itself with an oiled silicone spatula for a minute or so for extra lift power. Be generous with the flouring on the counter so it won´t stick to everything the dough comes in contact with. The entire family thought it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This is the first time I've ever baked bread and this recipe came out fantastic. Super tasty and the whole family loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This bread is amazing! I don't have an electric mixer so I mixed the dough by hand. It didn't rise as far as the picture but the results were still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States