Ciabatta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Easy, forgiving, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I was scared to make this bc I had never done a "sponge" before. It sounded like something complex and chemical that I would be sure to mess up. :) I made this and my first try it turned out perfect!! I think this bread would make great rolls for burgers. I might try my hand at making those next time. I followed this recipe exactly as written and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Yum-o! Made this into buns for Chicken Parmesan burgers. I don't have a pizza stone, but this was still awesome even baked on cookie sheets. I'll make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I was really pleased with results - I was lucky enough to have a large silicone mold, so I made mine into one (1) large loaf. Baked at 425 for about 27 minutes and she came out beautifully. I do agree with others that if I had to make into 2 loaves, they'd be rather small as the one I made was only barely large than a true loaf of Ciabatta. In any event, I'll definately make again - thank you so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I like to try different bread recipes and decided to try the recipe, despite some of the pictures that made the bread appear 'quite flat.' I thought the dough was quite sticky on the first rise compared to other doughs I have worked with. Both rises took about an hour longer than suggested, but my home was a little cool this morning. However, I did not understand the reason to divide the dough? 3 cups of flour is more common for 1 loaf of loaf of bread, not two, no matter how much it rises. However, I followed the directions and made two. As I expected, the final result was two very tiny not to mention somewhat flat looking loaves like some of the pictures depicted. I also agree with another reviewer that it requires an awful lot of bowls and moving the dough around way too much. I have no where to store a bread stone in my kitchen. It would have been nice if the directions gave instructions for typical baking sheets found in most home kitchen. This bread may have worked had the final rise been on the actual pan, as it is such a soft dough and can't hold up to a lot of movement, or had I just made one loaf which is all the dough is really able to properly make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
My family loves this bread!! It doesn't get quite the same crust as the ciabatta I'm used to, but it still has a wonderful flavor and texture. I make this often and am always asked when the next batch is coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This did not work for me at all - the 'sponge' wasn't spongey at all, more like a blob of dough. I kept at it anyway, and it seemed to be going OK until I baked it and it rose like a normal loaf of bread in the over. Not sure what went wrong as I followed the recipe to the word. I won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I didn't get quite the texture that is expected of Ciabatta bread, but the flavor was great. Texture differences could have came from quality of yeast, kneading time and temperature of rising, but I followed the directions exactly, so I'm rating those results. I'll make it again and probably increase the time of the first rise, and might use just a touch more yeast in the sponge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HIX2PETEY
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Delicious and simple to follow! I followed some of the other poster's recommendations and added 1 1/2 tbsp more oil, and 1/2 tsp. more salt. I also substituted 1 cup of whole wheat flour for the bread flour, halved between the sponge and the bread. I also added a metal pie pan of water to the bottom shelf of the oven so the crust turned very flaky. This has a delicious sour tang, is chewy inside, and took almost no effort to make! For those who have never made it: the dough will be very sticky and gooey. This is alright! It should be that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I'll start with the good: I've been making bread for a couple years and this is easily the best bread I've made to date. It was soft, chewy, soaked up butter like a sponge when I served it. The bad: The "sponge" measurements didn't work for me. The measurements given resulted in a softball sized ball of dough, not a sponge. A sponge, as I know it, should be extremely wet and gooey. I ended up going with equal parts flour and water, as well as additional yeast. And while a baking stone may produce a nice crusty bottom I've always felt that it took some of the air out of the bread since you're transferring the dough after it's been proofed. I just baked them on the parchment paper that had already been sprinkled with some cornmeal. Sat for 90 minutes and was ready to go in the oven. So while the exact recipe would have been a complete flop for me (sponge not spongy) the overall idea and directions are pretty solid. I'll definitely be making the modified version again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States