Ciabatta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Ok this bread is VERY good -in fact I'm still eating on it! Does have a little bit of a sourdough taste , slightly chewy but not dry. However I was taken aback by how runny the dough was. I was expecting a wet dough but it was more like batter! - I did add 2 Tablespoons of olive oil, not one. Had to work some flour into it to even move it on to the baking pan, picked it up with my scraper and kind of plopped it down. No shaping needed! Baked at 425 for 20 min. and though it was rather pale golden - it was done. I'm going to give it 5 stars because it seemed to be rather forgiving -as I did add more yeast than called for, and it is NO knead which is great, and it does taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSNOEL
Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Made it exactly as written (excepted baked on a Silpat slid onto a baking stone). If you're used to handling "normal" yeast dough, this is a little tricky to deal with since it's not kneaded to an elastic state. Use flour generously. Whatever you do, do NOT skimp on the salt. The salt is what makes this dough manageable, such as it is. You'll have a huge gooey mess if you don't add enough salt. You will love the results! Reminds me a bit of those fresh Tuscan loaves from Italy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wainblatrobert
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Great recipe although I feel like the recipe needs more salt. I wish the oven spring would've been bigger, the loaves ended up being wider than expected. Otherwise the crust was great and the bread tasty. I added rosemary and thyme to one of the loaves and it was yummy. Had some friends over and devoured both loaves with some olive oil, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tavegas
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
My first try at making bread other than in the breadmaker and this is a winner! worth the time it takes. anyone ever try freezing this ? would be nice to bake a bunch and save some for when you don't have time to start from scratch. Geat recipe!, Thanks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tavegas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
lovely. it was hard not to eat it all in one sitting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Just finished making this, first try. Did it exactly as directed, except hand kneaded dough instead of mixing in blender. Made 6 perfect sized sandwich rolls. Word of caution. The dough is sticky, don't put your loaves near anything that isn't stick resistant (including the other loaves).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I made this recipe on Monday but I had no bread flour on hand so I made it with AP flour. It was sooo good that I made more sponge yesterday and starting more Ciabatta today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Easy, forgiving, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I was scared to make this bc I had never done a "sponge" before. It sounded like something complex and chemical that I would be sure to mess up. :) I made this and my first try it turned out perfect!! I think this bread would make great rolls for burgers. I might try my hand at making those next time. I followed this recipe exactly as written and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Yum-o! Made this into buns for Chicken Parmesan burgers. I don't have a pizza stone, but this was still awesome even baked on cookie sheets. I'll make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States