Ciabatta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I've made this bread now twice and I have to say that it is really excellent! However, I would say some of the descriptions are not quite accurate. Such as when you combine the yeast with the water or milk and that it turns "creamy ". I was expecting it to have more body to call it that, but really it was more "milky". Which just means that the water and/or milk did combine with the yeast. Be sure to put the yeast with the water in a large enough bowl because it does grow in volume. The second time I made it I doubled the recipe because it just didn't make enough. Doubling the recipe I was able to make 14 nice size rolls ( 4") I baked them for 12 minutes. I didn't use a baking stone but just heated the cookie sheets with the oven and then slid the rolls which were on parchment paper onto the hot pans. I did add a bowl of water to the oven and sprayed the oven a couple of times during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I'm terrible at following directions and have no patience. Translation: terrible baker. But it came out awesome. I made an herb dipping oil and it was like a fancy restraunt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jakempf
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I let it rise longer. Got an almost pastry crust. Easy to make I get raves on it. Have to make almost every day to keep up with family and friend eating it. Very popular here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made this recipe but I made rolls instead of loaves and froze half. I also added rosemary and garlic to the rolls and made a few with some red pepper added in addition to the other herbs. No complaints and no leftover rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Really great simple bread recipe. This recipe makes one nice big loaf. If you want it a little more airy, not so dense, let the loaf sit covered on your stove top while the oven pre-heats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Not sure what went wrong, I made the sponge exactly as stated but it never turned to sponge, 24 hours later I made the bread dough exactly as stated and it was firm like regular bread dough. My yeast is new and I know it's good because I made several loaves of bread yesterday. I used Better For Bread flour and quality olive oil. I'm not new to bread making... Any thoughts on what went wrong are greatly appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This recipe is delicious! I had my doubts with the way it went together (I followed the original recipe)but it turned out great. Yes, the sponge is sticky, and after kneading the dough is very elastic and gloopy. But given time, it works! I mixed the sponge in with the other ingredients by hand (don't have a stand mixer) then threw it all into the bread machine on Dough cycle. When I took it out, I divided it into 16 mini loaf sized pans and baked them for 20 min. They came out golden and perfect. They have a lovely taste, good crumb, and a nice crust. My British husband loves them as they taste like the bread in England and not the horrible, felt-textured bread here in the States. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I added fresh chopped rosemary and chopped garlic to the top before baking. This came out as good as the insanely expensive loaves the organic bakery sells. My sponge had to wait about 36 hours and it only got better. Great recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
the oven was too hot it burned the parchment paper taste good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This recipe made made the best ciabatta out of the three recipes I've tried. The reason it gets 4/5 is because it does not say what the starter is supposed to look like. The starter will look like a ball of dough. It is supposed to look like this. Wait an hour or two, and it will turn into a sponge. I usually use slightly less than 1 cup of flour, around 9/10ths. A variation for stronger sourdough flavor is to increase the amount of yeast. One time I made this I used 1T yeast in the starter, and it had a much stronger flavor. I use the normal amount when making the bread itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States