Ciabatta Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This is more like focaccia bread than ciabatta. Was dense, not airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Came out bad. The only thing I was missing was the baking stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Something's not right here. I make various breads using my bread maker for both completed loaves and dough starters, but this recipe (which I measured exactly, something that I don't think is all that necessary) just produced a load of runny goop that was impossible to shape, handle or do anything with. It just slowly ran off the sides of the floured board on to the worktop and from there it was a quick step into the waste bin. Any ideas on how to actually get this to work? Take care.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This was good bread. I used my kitchenaid mixer because I don't have a bread machine. I also used all purpose flour and my dough wasn't even remotely runny, I'm guessing this is why my bread was so much denser than I was expecting, even though I barely worked it at all. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This is an excellent recipe! I'm so glad I found it! I just used regular flour and it was fantastic. I just doubled the recipe and made 4 loafs to take with us on our beach trip! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
The dough came out like batter, supper runny. I measured exactly, my ingredients are fresh (just made bread yesterday with it) and I've been using my bread machine for months now. Terrible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starfishsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I make this often. My husband & grandgirls love it. So easy and comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made this as directed in my Zojirushi. I let the dough rest for 15 minutes in the machine and then poured the dough into 2 well oiled 9-inch cake pans. I then sprayed cooking spray on top of the dough and covered with greased plastic wrap for the rise time. I baked about 25 mins with a pan of water on the bottom oven shelf. I didn't spray the dough. Turned out two round, fairly even, inch and half high loaves. I sliced the loaves flat across and filled with deli meat and cheese. Sandwiches for a crowd! Will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I'm actually looking for some advice :-) I have made this bread a few times and the first 2 it turned out perfect! Chewy on the inside and crispy on the out. The last few times however it has turned out more like normal bread. Soft and nice, but nothing like ciabatta... any one have ideas? I followed the recipe exactly the same all times (at least I think I did...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by empresskitten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I had a hard time rating this, because mine was just a "pool" of dough, as others have stated. You can't cover it, either - too sticky. The first time I made it, I had floured the top & covered with wax paper, which I had to bake with it on or deflate the dough - which was only about an inch high as it was! It had spread to almost cover the pan...I loved how it turned out! Perfectly crunchy top & bottom & airy/chewy inside. I cut it into sandwich-sized pieces, then split them to make a top & bottom. I don't like a thick bread - I used to cut the middle out of store-bought ciabatta rolls, using the middles as more sandwich slices (but no nice crust). I assumed I made the bread with too much liquid, so made it a 2nd time being very careful to measure everything exactly. Same watery dough the 2nd time, but I didn't care! The flavor & texture are excellent - with or without toasting. I purposely spread it as much as possible (about 10"x12") sprayed it with Pam and the plastic wrap to cover it & let it rise. It didn't get much higher, and the covering stuck anyway, so it deflated some when I removed it. It came out 1" high - just thick enough to split in two. I'm rating this 5 stars because I personally LOVE it like this and will continue to make it for myself. (first flop I've ever liked!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States