Ciabatta Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Excellent bread. Perfect explanation in recipe to have a nice crispy crust and a nice soft center. The only problem is I have no leftovers for tomorrow. The next time I will try some cheese topping as the crust appears to support this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I had runny dough all over me, the kitchen counter, the dogs, the floor. Yes, I followed the recipe. I turned the dough out on plastic wrap, since you said it would be runny. I could only get it off the wrap with a spatula. Couldn't possibly have divided it in half, as it ran together. Despite losing 1/3 of the dough as stated above, it baked up great. I covered it with olive oil while hot and sprinkled on kosher salt. I don't know how to fix this recipe except by adding flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Detroit Girl
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Easy to make and My family enjoyed the bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elizabeth
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This came out great! Did not use a bread machine. Dough was very sticky, but stuck to recommendations and did not add any more flour. Glad I did! Added some rosemary per one reviewer's recommendation and it was awesome. I want to eat the whole loaf right now! (Note: Used bread flour only, no AP needed.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I've made this bread several times already (no bread machine - do it by hand); I add fresh rosemary to the dough, and proof the dough and sugar in water, as suggested by another reviewer, before adding to the flour; also, instead of a 45-minute rise, I let it rise for one hour. I also pre-heat a pizza stone sprinkled with corn meal, and a metal loaf pan on the rack below the pizza stone, for a half an hour before baking the bread. There is no need to spritz the bread if you pre-heat a metal loaf pan and then add a cup of very hot water to the loaf pan when putting in the bread. The water hitting the pan will create plenty of steam as you quickly shut the oven door, and the result will be a nice, crispy crust. I make all of my breads this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Have experience making yeast breads.The texture of this bread gives breakfast casseroles a great texture. Like to toast slices for tapenade.I find using a Pam coated spatula best way to handle/divide batter.Pour onto parchment paper and let rise. I do not dimple and handle carefully, as it tends to deflate if knocked about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Due to me having a low sodium diet, I have to find recipes from scratch... In this recipe, I altered it slightly by using 2 cups of wheat flour and 1 and 1/2 cups of bread flour and then I added some basil and rosemary spices and added it to the water where the salt and sugar was added. The bread turned out great! I love Ciabatta bread and all the air pockets in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
The dough was so wet, it oozed on my board. It did bake up as pictured and looked pretty nice, but my daughter's first comment was, "You've made better bread than this." It was too salty for our family to eat and we are saving it to make a strata or bread crumbs with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPICYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Easy, easy, easy bread to make. I enjoy making this several times a week and anything left over makes lovely grilled cheese sandwiches or toast, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I am somewhat of a beginner to making bread but have tried several different types and this by far is my favourite. MY husband LOVES ciabatta bread and it is difficult to come by in my area. I tried this, having relatively low expectations, and was pleasantly surprised with the flavour, texture and appearance. The crust was chewy and the inside was moist and soft. The only things I did differently was I proofed the yeast first in the warm water for 20minutes. I also used all purpose flour instead of bread flour and the dough was the perfect texture for ciabatta - rather wet but still a workable dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States