Ciabatta Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I'm actually looking for some advice :-) I have made this bread a few times and the first 2 it turned out perfect! Chewy on the inside and crispy on the out. The last few times however it has turned out more like normal bread. Soft and nice, but nothing like ciabatta... any one have ideas? I followed the recipe exactly the same all times (at least I think I did...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by empresskitten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I had a hard time rating this, because mine was just a "pool" of dough, as others have stated. You can't cover it, either - too sticky. The first time I made it, I had floured the top & covered with wax paper, which I had to bake with it on or deflate the dough - which was only about an inch high as it was! It had spread to almost cover the pan...I loved how it turned out! Perfectly crunchy top & bottom & airy/chewy inside. I cut it into sandwich-sized pieces, then split them to make a top & bottom. I don't like a thick bread - I used to cut the middle out of store-bought ciabatta rolls, using the middles as more sandwich slices (but no nice crust). I assumed I made the bread with too much liquid, so made it a 2nd time being very careful to measure everything exactly. Same watery dough the 2nd time, but I didn't care! The flavor & texture are excellent - with or without toasting. I purposely spread it as much as possible (about 10"x12") sprayed it with Pam and the plastic wrap to cover it & let it rise. It didn't get much higher, and the covering stuck anyway, so it deflated some when I removed it. It came out 1" high - just thick enough to split in two. I'm rating this 5 stars because I personally LOVE it like this and will continue to make it for myself. (first flop I've ever liked!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Best and easiest!!! Followed directions exactly but as other reviewers wrote, I left dough in bread machine for 20-30 minutes and removed from pan. Not as loose as I expected and followed the rest of directions and it turned out great, hubby loved the taste. Making second batch tonite for town meeting day pot luck. Keeping one loaf for us though! Will be making many times in the future. Thanks for such a great crusty bread recipe better than the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lorlak
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
My husband loves ciabatta rolls for making sandwiches. We usually buy them at BJ's. Thought I would try my hand at this recipe because in the reviews 2 important words kept coming up. 1. Delicious 2. Easy. I doubled the recipe and made it in my kitchenaid mixer and followed the directions exactly exept for the dimpling of the bread... After I got it in the oven I looked up dimpling and it said to make dimples by making indentions with your fingers... Well I apparently "docked" the bread.... making holes with a fork... Nonetheless, it came out very nicely! Tasty!! Easy!! Husband gave it five stars and he would definitely let me know if it wasn't up to snuff. Thanks Marina for the great recipe... :) Will make again for sure! UPDATE! ok now I have made almost every ciabatta bread recipe that I have found at all interesting. I keep coming back to this one. My husband also likes this one the best. I usually add a little rosemary that I have growing outside... This bread is great for dipping too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
brushed with olive oil, sprinkled sea salt,pepper,and some herbs. It tasted like the bread at Macaroni Grille. we tore off chunks and dipped in olive oil while it was still warm. It was really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLALAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I used Fleischmanns dry active yeast, which I know is not the most effective bread machine yeast, but as I also added some dough enhancer I hoped for the best. The loaf did not rise much at all. The final loaf tasted way too salty, but this too maybe because I used a low sodium salt. I need to try again but using less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Easy to make, firm but soft, and paired perfectly with BBQ chicken. Family loved the meal! I also made it into buns instead of loaves by shaping them at the first dimpling stage and dipping them in sesame seeds. After rising again, I dimpled the second time and slipped into the oven for baking. It made six buns that were about 4" in diameter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Litegal1
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
For those of you not wanting to deal with a super loss batter, I added 1/4 cup more flour, kneaded in KA for 5 minutes and came out with a lovely soft dough. Skipped the resting period, molded into two squares, cut the squares with pizza cutter (4 per square or a total of 8 bun sized), and proceeded with rest of recipe as written (except baked for 20"). Insanely wonderful burger sized buns, chewy on the outside but light and fluffy on the inside. Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by hoticema
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I have no bread machine, so I did it the old fashioned way--by blooming my yeast in the warm water and sugar first. Fabulous bread! I always thought specialty breads like chibata and chala were impossible at home, but this was the easiest bread I ever made; and with the best results. I added some dried herbs and seasonings to it the second time: rosemary, parsley, garlic, lemon peel, paprika, red pepper... It made it that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Very good recipe! I've been playing with the amount of olive oil to add - more makes the though a little denser, less makes it lighter but less texture. Give it a try - easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E Saburi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States