Ciabatta Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
this was a really good and easy bred. I spiced it up by replacing one cup of flour with whole wheat flour and adding some fresh rosemary. It had a nice crunchy crust. the only thing I did not like was the bread machine instructions I don't have one so figuring out the mix and rise time was a bit difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I have made this at least ten times and the dough runs over the pan and bakes up with a very pale crust. Instructions say not to add more flour, but this is so runny you can't even shape it. Don't know how one person was able to shape it into buns. Looking for a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Excellent, light and fluffy with a super crispy crust. My whole family was very pleased and thought they were purchased from our local bakery. I cut them into individual pillows prior to baking so everyone could enjoy the crunchy edges. I bake bread often and absolutely LOVE the simplicity and ease of using a break maker for this recipe! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chesterwick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Was a little tedious of a process, but it was well worth it. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nresch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Great bread, i added dried Rosemary like someone else did and it was amazing. I didnt use a bread machine, i just used to spatula to do the folding because it is moist. I misted with water, next time I will olive oil to mist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I love making bread, but didn't enjoy making this ciabatta. The dough was very runny and I did resist the temptation to add more flour after the first proof. In the second proof, the dough started to spread, like the Blob, and did not rise. Halfway through the second proof, I ended up putting it into a loaf tin. Tasted okay, but not the ciabatta that I am like. I think I will just go to my favourite bakery for ciabatta next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This bread is so delicious! I made this with proofing yeast, warm water, sugar, and olive oil. I also added 2T of fresh minced rosemary. I slowly added the flour and salt, kneaded and let it rest for 15 minutes, then let it rise for an hour. The dough is sticky and somewhat gooey but as the submitter stated, "resist the temptation to add more flour". I placed a pan filled with water on the lowest oven rack to increase the humidity for the bread. Instead of dividing the dough into 2 small pieces I kept it one large size. I placed the bread on a parchment paper and baked the bread at 450 degrees for 25 minutes. After the first 10 mins of baking, I spritzed the bread with water every 3 mins a few times. This helps to achieve the nice golden color and crusty bread topping. The wonderful aroma of bread baking made my mouth water and I couldn't wait to eat the bread right out from the oven. The bread baked up beautifully into one large round shape. The top was an even golden brown color. I just had to cut myself a nice warm piece of bread. This is a nice, simple, rustic style bread. The outside is crispy while the inside is soft and tasty. This bread recipe is good as is and I don't see a need to change any ingredients or measurements. This complemented my juicy steak, "Balsamic Mushrooms", and "Roasted Tomatoes with Garlic", also from this site. I used the bread to soaked up all the fresh juices from the tomatoes and mushrooms and steak. My family ate up the entire bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by pinkfiresky
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Simple no nonsense bread. I found that if you spritz the bread too soon while it's in the oven, it stops the bread from rising while baking. So wait 10 minutes or so before spritzing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkfiresky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This turned out perfectly. I didn't find the dough to be intimidatingly runny in the least. Wonderfully crispy crust and soft on the inside... Thanks for making me look like a pro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mother Ann
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Very Good! This bread came out wonderful! I took the advice of other reviewers and spritzed my bread while it was baking. I did it every 7 minutes. I also added some fresh rosemary and that gave it a wonderful aroma! I can't wait for hubby to get home so we can have a glass of wine and dip this bread into olive oil with oregano in it. Some reviewers complained of this bread being too sticky. It was somewhat sticky & wet, but not overly so. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States