Ciabatta Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I followed the directions exactly. I refrained from adding any more flour even though the dough was very sticky and wet. It was next to impossible to handle. My loaves came out thinner than I prefer, but they tasted very good with a crunchy crust and soft interior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This recipe turned out very well. I didn't need to spray the loaves as the recipe called for. The crust turned out just fine for me. Yesterday I made a roast beef on ciabatta with sriracha mayo, gruyere & swiss, and a sliced tomato. Heated it a little under the broiler to melt the cheeses & toast the crust. Turned out DELICIOUS. I will make this recipe many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Just a great, light, "holey" kind of bread. It was quite sticky and wet, and I did add about 1/8 cup more of flour, but as long as you don't handle it much, it will do what it is supposed to do. I spritzed too early and got a flat loaf. I put the dough in a Dutch oven to bake. It comes out looking like artisan bread. This recipe is great. Just make sure to handle dough as little as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHWEEZY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kirtland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This recipe was easy and delicious. It turned out better then the ciabatta bread I have been buying.I had a turkey sandwich and it was the best sandwich I ever had I still can't believe it was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Yum! My second successful loaf of bread today! I followed this recipe exactly, except I just left the dough in my bread machine for an extra 20 minutes instead of placing on the counter under a bowl to rise (as was suggested to me on The Buzz). The directions aren't kidding- this is some of the stickiest dough I have ever worked with! I did manage to resist the urge to add more flour, but it was difficult :) I thought there was no way I was going to be able to form the dough into anything resembling an oval (or anything else for that matter!), as I could not hardly even get it off my hands. So, I divided it in two, and just sort of plopped it on the baking sheet in frustration. Don't worry though- after it sits for a bit it is easy to go back and get it into shape. I did spritz with water every 5 minutes or so of baking, and I got a beautiful crispy crust. The inside is perfectly chewy. Just wonderful! Thank you Marina! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
My first time with ciabatta and it was perfect. I read every review and ladelded out the flour with my measure as one suggested and used bread machine for kneading and one rise. Used spatula to remove with no difficulty and then divided dough into two nice loaves using flour on my hands. Let rise second time on parchment lined baking sheets. Did water spritz after 10 min. And they turned out looking great and tasted fabulous. I was afraid to try after so many talked about so liquid. I honestly think scooping the bread flour out with the one cup measure made the difference. Can't wait for hubby to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dellroy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
my secret to make it crusty is to put a cast iron pan below the baking rack and preheated it, then when I placed the bread inside the oven I added four or five cubes of ice on the cast iron pan, the bread came out very nice, but I don't think the flavor is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alecesar7

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Fantastic bread! I made the dough in the bread machine, and since it rests and rises there as well, I skipped the first rising outside of the machine. I made two loafs, covered them and let them rise for 45 min., as the recipe says. Following other reviewers' advice, I put a bowl with water on the bottom of the oven, and sprinkled water on the loafs every 4-5 min. After the bread was ready, I covered it and let it cool before slicing. It is extremely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Just made this bread and the recipe turned out perfect, as written! I made no changes and do not plan to make any in the future, and will definitely be making it in the future. Fortunately, I have worked with wet dough before, so I wasn't intimidated by it, but was glad that other reviewers mentioned it so that I wasn't startled by it. The best way to work with wet dough is to lightly sprinkle with flour before cutting and handling. I use a small metal wire strainer so you get a light even dusting over the dough. Then I cut it in half and gently formed it into two loaves. I got about the same size as the recipe called for. The most important thing to remember is when you are measuring the water, I always measure by weight so that it's exact. And when I measure flour, I place it in the measuring cup and use a knife to level it off so that the flour does not get packed down. If you do those two things, your breads will come out better, in my opinion. We had the best BLT sandwiches with this bread and I look forward to leftover turkey sandwiches with the other loaf! Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This is a recipe you really can't go wrong with. I substituted practically everything for ingredients I already had (whole wheat flour instead of white, brown sugar instead of white, sea salt) and it turned out lovely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States