Churros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
First of all, the fact that these didn't turn out right is probably my fault. When I was done cooking the batter, it was much too thick to pipe, so I added water. I didn't have a thermometer so I had to guesstimate the temperature. When our first ones turned out much too doughy, I had to roll them into little sticks the size of a pencil in order for them to cook through, as well as reducing the temperature of my oil by more than half. In addition to that, I consider this the best way to waste a ton of oil. I don't think I will make them again, however my guests and family liked them just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Mine were so good! They didn't last for a minute! I made them and everyone said, Donuts! Donuts! Even though they weren't donuts, they were just round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
The one thing this recipe is missing is eggs which would make for a lighter and less dense chewy churro, try adding 3-4 eggs after removing flour from stovetop, mix 1 at a time until dough is glossy. You will notice a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murray tietelbaum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I tried this recipe and it was great for a quick snack in a pinch!!! I did find it a lil chewy! The next time I tried it after adding the flour and forming a ball I dropped 1egg in and teaspoon of vanilla and stirred until smooth (it's possible) and continue on with the recipe!!!! It made a world of difference! So crispy on the outside and soft on the inside! Best I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shamot
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
It is nice! but I think it doesn't need lots of oil for frying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time today and it turned out great! I couldnt measure the temperature of the oil but i left it at medium low heat. The first batch was abit hard/crunchy on the outside because i left it too long in the oil. But the second batch was soft and just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
These were way to salty and I took out the 1/2 teaspoon of salt stated into the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Noelle
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I tried the recipe but the dough was too hard so I added 2 eggs at the end after the dough cooled a little and used a pastry pipe... They came out super light and fluffy... Browned to perfection.. I used an electric deep fryer.. The recipe is a total keeper with my little twist..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
The churros reminded me of my life in mexico with my pet turtle and how we used to eat them together(he loevd the cinnamon chunks)We would make them every Tuesaday night but he would NEVER do the work so it was quite time consuming since I was the only one cooking. The only thing that he would do, by the way his names Ron, is kneed the dough a lot with his paws and i found that it was always better when he did it. Wow, thinking about this has made me miss the old days under the mango trees in Mexico. Ron and I, looking into the distance, into the mango tinted sunset. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I had to make up a restaurant for my culinary class and used this recipe for desert and as my presentation. I doubled it and it made roughly about 20 churros. These churros are then best thing in the world. They are amazing when you have vanilla ice cream with chocolate syrup drizzled on the bottom and then adds a couple churros on the top. It will make ur taste buds dance
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States