Churros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I doubled the batch, thank goodness, because everyone couldn't stop eating them! My nephew went on and on about how awesome they were and kept thanking me for making them. I used my Fry Daddy to cook them...very quick and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I was not very successful at making this recipe. The recipe did not specify about the thickness you should make the churro so I ended up making mine too thick. The outside got extremely burnt before the inside was cooked. So i suggest making them on the thinner side so the inside cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
The taste was awesome. The only that i didnt like was that most of them are still raw on the inside. I think my oil was to high. Next time I make these, I will cook them on a lower heat. I used a ziplock bag but the dough was really hot so I put on a oven mit and used that hand to squeeze! lol They came out really good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinkerwise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butternut, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
5 stars all the way! What i love about this recipe is that it is easy, fun and plentiful! Ive made this 3 times already and each time, i always have plenty left over! Last night, a gal pal and i went to make 8 churros for ourselves, and we ended up with 27 long churros!! they were at least 6 inches long each! This is delicious and really fun to make! YOU MUST MAKE THIS!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Really, really good. A couple of minor changes: I added a tablespoon or two more of water and I mixed the hot liquids with the flour until just barely combined enough to make a sticky ball (in fact there were tiny flour clumps still there but they disappeared when I was piping). I think over-mixing would make it more of a chewy texture and so mine were how I prefer them, crispy on the outside and very soft on the inside. I also added some vanilla and a tiny pinch of nutmeg into the dough just to give it some more flavor. Lastly, it took me a while to get the oil just right. I found that 375 was too hot and it was browning too fast without cooking thoroughly on the inside so i reduced it to 330-350 approx (med heat) and they were perfect. Piping them on the thinner side also helped cook them evenly. Everyone loved them and I will definitely make them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This recipe was very simple and easy to make! I received a lot of compliments on my Churros. I did not have a pastry bag, but I used a freezer bag and cut the corner of the bag and it worked the same exact way as a pastry bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Very yummy and very easy to make. I used a candy thermometer to get the temp of the oil just right. Use a cloth pastry bag or the plastic ones will be burst. Double the recipe cuz they will be gone in no time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
The dough was super tough to squeeze through the pastry bag. Maybe I didn't do something right? Anyways, they turned out perfectly! I piped the dough into strips on a plate first, then put the strips into the hot oil 3 at a time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khrysten1988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I regret making these...We ate them all, before they even made it to the table. Wow, they were crazy delicious! We rolled some by hand in ball shape, thick tube, thin tube, squeezed some through a pipe really really thin. My favorite (and what came out best with crunchy outside, light soft inside) was the thin hand rolled ones and the thicker tube piped ones. It took a couple tries to figure out what shade of light brown was best. But every last one of these was totally awesome! Will be saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I have hidden this recipe for quite some time because I was scared to make these. OMG!!! These were so easy to make and my kids and husband chewed them up! I used all of Cat's modifications. 1 Tbsp. of oil and 1 Tbsp of sugar for the dough instead of the original measurements. Also, I did not have a pastry bag but a Pampered Chef cookie dough press. It has a tip on it that made the churros look like real churros with the cool ridges. I only made one batch and these suckers were gone in five minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by God's Child
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States