Churros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
My Daughter loved the Churros. This ingredients are affordable and this recipe is so easy to make and cook. Good thing my sister-in-law gave my daughter a cake/biscuit decorator and it made it more easier for us to get the traditional Churros look. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bamblebee76

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Wow, I just made an account on a foreign-language-site I rarely visit, just to post my opinion on those dumb 1 and 2-star-ratings. But first of all: Great recipe. Did them ad though I failed choux pastry in the past(I guess I didnt knead enough), those were great. Even though my oil was WAY to hot(no thermometer =/ - they got dark brown(yummy- really!) within a minute), they came out great because my mothers dough-syringe has a rather small tip. Though I have to say they got soggy too fast- advice would be appreciated. Or does this happen naturally? I figured mine might have been a little undercooked or something. Once I was done with the batch and chocolate, the latest made were soggy and I hate that feeling in the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I followed every step but why did my batter turned out to be runny?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This was soooo easy and DELICIOUS!!! I followed directions to the T....I had no issues. I used coconut oil for the flour mixture and grapeseed for the frying. I didn't have a pastry bad, but my ziploc worked great. The texture was perfect and the right amount of chewyness in the middle. I don't know why others have made revisions here and there to this recipe, there is no need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I doubled the batch, thank goodness, because everyone couldn't stop eating them! My nephew went on and on about how awesome they were and kept thanking me for making them. I used my Fry Daddy to cook them...very quick and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I was not very successful at making this recipe. The recipe did not specify about the thickness you should make the churro so I ended up making mine too thick. The outside got extremely burnt before the inside was cooked. So i suggest making them on the thinner side so the inside cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
The taste was awesome. The only that i didnt like was that most of them are still raw on the inside. I think my oil was to high. Next time I make these, I will cook them on a lower heat. I used a ziplock bag but the dough was really hot so I put on a oven mit and used that hand to squeeze! lol They came out really good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinkerwise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butternut, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
5 stars all the way! What i love about this recipe is that it is easy, fun and plentiful! Ive made this 3 times already and each time, i always have plenty left over! Last night, a gal pal and i went to make 8 churros for ourselves, and we ended up with 27 long churros!! they were at least 6 inches long each! This is delicious and really fun to make! YOU MUST MAKE THIS!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Really, really good. A couple of minor changes: I added a tablespoon or two more of water and I mixed the hot liquids with the flour until just barely combined enough to make a sticky ball (in fact there were tiny flour clumps still there but they disappeared when I was piping). I think over-mixing would make it more of a chewy texture and so mine were how I prefer them, crispy on the outside and very soft on the inside. I also added some vanilla and a tiny pinch of nutmeg into the dough just to give it some more flavor. Lastly, it took me a while to get the oil just right. I found that 375 was too hot and it was browning too fast without cooking thoroughly on the inside so i reduced it to 330-350 approx (med heat) and they were perfect. Piping them on the thinner side also helped cook them evenly. Everyone loved them and I will definitely make them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This recipe was very simple and easy to make! I received a lot of compliments on my Churros. I did not have a pastry bag, but I used a freezer bag and cut the corner of the bag and it worked the same exact way as a pastry bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Elephant Ears

Watch how to make Elephant Ears, a fair food favorite.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States