Churros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I made this recipe twice. My first trial was a bit chewy (although some came out crunchy). My husband (whose sweet tooth can't be trusted) was delighted with the first attempt. My 2nd trial was "better"- I baked them (was feeling too guilty for having churros for the 2nd time in a week). I doubled the ingredients but only added 2 tbs of sugar. The reason for the 4 stars is because the recipe doesn't say how thick they should be (I have no churreria), for the churros to come out more crunchy and less chewy. I will try next time to add less oil as another reviewer noted and see if it helps with crunchiness. I had it with Chocolate a la taza (the thick Spanish chocolate served in all Spain). Mmmm, delicioso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by docswife
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Quick and easy to put together. I did add the seeds from one split vanilla bean for a little added touch. My kids loved these. I served them with two dipping sauces, dark chocolate and homemade dulce de leche. Big hit here in the Bebout house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Fantastic!!!!!!!!!! Much easier than donuts, and so tasty! I followed the recommendations on decreasing the sugar and oil, and doubled the recipe. Next time I'll have to make even more. These will disappear way too fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
These were delicious. It took be about 30 minuets to finish them and I made at least 40 of them. I defiantly recommend this. It just tastes like fried dough with sugar and cinnamon! It's a little piece of heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Great recipe! FYI for those who care, Churros are NOT a Mexican pastry, they're originally from Spain where my descendants are from and i don't get why mexicans claim it as theirs like they do many other foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe EXACTLY and I used a ziploc for a pastry bag, I really dont know what went wrong, maybe it was too thick but I was standing over the frying oil and one of the churro's exploded!! I have an extreme burn on my hand (it has covered almost half of my right hand) with a big blister and a blister on my forhead, when I ran to put my hand under cold water another one of the churros in the pan popped also. Im not sure, It may be a good recipe but I will NEVER EVER make it again. I have to deal with a burned hand for at least a few months until its all well again, but be very very very careful if you want to make this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
yumy! Eat 'em HOT! I piped all of the dough into 6 inch rolls on a paper towel before I placed them in the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This are amazing! I made them for a quince we were hosting at our school and they were great! Nice and crispy, and great tasting! I am 15, so this recipe is pretty simple if I can do it. (: I read other reviews about how they were chewy, so here's my suggestion: make sure they are baked all the way through by using a smaller star-shaped end piece on your pastry bag, and they come out just perfect with the right consistency. I strongly recommend this to everyone! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
These turned out great! Just like the ones you order from the school fundraisers or get at the restaurants. I used a large piping tip #864 in a ziploc bag and they turned out about 1" wide and 4" long. My bag broke a few times. I will need to find a sturdier pastry bag before I make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
AH-friggen-MAZING!!!!! Made these last for the first time. Was kind of hesitant because some of the bad reviews, but they were far beyond what I was expecting!! Had some friends over tonight, so we doubled the recipe, and they all went! One of our friends is Mexican, and a tough Mexican food critic, even he couldn't believe how amazing they were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States