Churros II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I made this for a party/meeting and they were a hit. Everyone loved them. I will definitely make them again. I did make sure to use a cloth-type pastry bag and it worked great. I had to pinch each one off into the oil as they didn't just break off, which was totally fine. They did cook pretty fast, so I was getting behind on coating them with the cinnamon/sugar. So, I figured out a quick (and much easier) way to do it. I would scoop them out of the oil with a large flat slotted spoon onto paper towels just long enough to put the next batch into the skillet. I would then dump the hot churros into a ziploc bag with the cinnamon and sugar, shake it up and then just took them out with my hands and placed them on the serving plate. That worked great and they were perfectly coated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahsbleucheese

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
This is a very good recipe. Hint: Only beat the eggs enough to blend in, otherwise it will make the texture too doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
At 7pm my son told me he needed churros for his Spanish class the next day. Once the recipe was prepared, frying and rolling-in-the cinnamon was quick. These tasted soooo good. Lots of raves from his Spanish class and teacher. I lived in L.A. and I can tell you, these taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I didn't have a pastry cloth or a deep fryer but I made do. Take a ziploc bag and cut a hole in the bottom and squeeze out the dough. For the frying, just use a huge pan and put in a ton of oil. My only problems were how quickly they cooked. I had to call into my boyfriend to help me remove the oil and coat them, there was no time for one person! Also, they looked kinda like big pieces of poo. Mind you they tasted delicious so who cares how they look?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I have not had a Churro for four months because I moved.I made this recipe and I thought I was in heaven, they are really good. The ones I used to buy had a cream in the middle I am going to try them again soon I have got a cream recipe now. I will let you know how it turned out!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chivas_81

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I would not recommend this recipe at all. The dough you end up creating is very plain and the only flavouring at all comes from the cinnamon and sugar. Really a very tasteless dessert that is not worth the effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Delicious and so easy to make. Didn't have a pastry bag so I used a ziplock bag and cut a star shape out of the corner. works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
yum yum yum!!! These were great and my kids loved them. They are very easy to make, just make sure the oil is verry hot. When putting the mixture into the oil I used a pair of scissors to cut the right lenght. Also using a ziplock beg is a good idea but make sure they have cooled enough or they will melt the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyNut

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
I thought it was too messy for kids to help with, almost too messy for myself. To doughy after cooking. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These were GREAT! I followed the advice to cut down to 2 eggs and added vanilla! Was a huge hit! I doubled the suger and cinnimon and added into a bowl and my 4 year old would coat them while i fried them! I read some review's where it says is alot of work and trouble,I disagree completely. We will be doing this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States