Church Windows I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
These are FABULOUS! I did not role out the dough, though, I prefer my scones less neat. I used a large spoon and dropped them on a cookie sheet like cookie dough. Then with a fork I smashed them down some and then backed. Cooking time is a little longer as they are not as thin, but you can tell they are done. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I grew up making these with my mom and I never knew that there was actually a recipe out there. They are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
WE love these -- I do like the other reviewer and roll them up in wax paper to then cool and slice. I find the presentation is beautiful this way and that my electric knife works the best for slicing them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I made these with my mom when I was younger and it was great to find the recipe. I leave out the coconut and they look and taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
My hubby and kids dont like the texture of nuts or coconut in their chocolate, and the recipe works just fine without them. Like another reviewer, I also couldnt find rainbow-marshmellows that were "normal" flavored, so we used the colored marshmellows that are fruit-flavored. Growing up, these cookies were always brought to every church Christmas party...these are just like I remember them. I also prefer to put the marshety-choco mix in a long log down the center of a sheet of wax paper, twist off the ends and secure with twisty-ties, and then refrigerate overnight or for several hours before slicing them. To store them, I put them in an air tight tin separating the layers with sheets of wax paper. I recommend keeping them in a cool spot to keep the chocolate nice and firm until ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2000
These were wonderfully easy and absolutely delicious! Everybody loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
I love this recipe - I've used it for years! Instead of making bar cookies, I spread the coconut out on foil wrap. Then put the chocolate/marshmallow mixture down the middle in a log shape. Roll up the foil/chocolate in a log shape making sure coconut gets onto the chocolate. Chill until firm. Slice and you'll have beautiful stained glass windows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
These are my favorite holiday treats! I add a teaspoon of vanilla and some chopped walnuts to the melted chocolate as it is cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
We made these when I was a kid, so I wanted to continue the tradition with my daughter. Her and her friend enjoyed making them, and needed very little help from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This recipe turned out great! It looks and tastes like my grandma use to make when I was a kid! I left out the walnuts, and still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States