Church Windows I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
I love this recipe - I've used it for years! Instead of making bar cookies, I spread the coconut out on foil wrap. Then put the chocolate/marshmallow mixture down the middle in a log shape. Roll up the foil/chocolate in a log shape making sure coconut gets onto the chocolate. Chill until firm. Slice and you'll have beautiful stained glass windows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
WE love these -- I do like the other reviewer and roll them up in wax paper to then cool and slice. I find the presentation is beautiful this way and that my electric knife works the best for slicing them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
My hubby and kids dont like the texture of nuts or coconut in their chocolate, and the recipe works just fine without them. Like another reviewer, I also couldnt find rainbow-marshmellows that were "normal" flavored, so we used the colored marshmellows that are fruit-flavored. Growing up, these cookies were always brought to every church Christmas party...these are just like I remember them. I also prefer to put the marshety-choco mix in a long log down the center of a sheet of wax paper, twist off the ends and secure with twisty-ties, and then refrigerate overnight or for several hours before slicing them. To store them, I put them in an air tight tin separating the layers with sheets of wax paper. I recommend keeping them in a cool spot to keep the chocolate nice and firm until ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Excellent recipe that I make every holiday season, omitting the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Great recipe. My mom makes this every year, she substitutes peanut butter for the butter and uses white mini marshmellows - it is to die for !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShelleyS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Coaldale, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
These are my favorite holiday treats! I add a teaspoon of vanilla and some chopped walnuts to the melted chocolate as it is cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
My friends and I like this chocolate candy but i think I'm going to use rainbow rice as a substitute to dessicated coconut and use more butter in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I know there a lot of people who make these and thought I would try them. I did not care at all for the colored marshmellow flavors with the chocolate. The coconut just seemed odd with it. Maybe I'm just a Rocky Road gal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Found these to be a little too sweet. I used sweetened coconut so that may be why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I have made these for as many years as I can remember, and my mom making them before that. The kids (and adults) absolutely love these and they are so simple to make! I do omit the coconut and roll it into a log on powdered sugar coated waxed paper and chill until set. Then, I just cut into circles, that way you can see all the pretty colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States