Church Windows I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
So yummy! I have been making these for years, no idea where I got the original recipe, but I use this same recipe. Prefer them as logs, though - better presentation. I lay out a sheet of foil with a sheet of waxed paper, sprinkle the waxed paper with powdered sugar and unsweetened, flaked coconut. I prefer Bob's Red Mill. Then I lay down the chocolate marshmellow mixture in a log shape, sprinkle more coconut and powdered sugar on top, then roll up tight in the wax paper, shaping as I roll. roll up nice and snug in the foil and refrigerate. When firm, I slice and arrange on a dish, sprinkling with the extra powdered sugar and coconut. Note - if you prefer sweetened coconut, no need for the powdered sugar. These are really sweet and a little addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roz147

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I know there a lot of people who make these and thought I would try them. I did not care at all for the colored marshmellow flavors with the chocolate. The coconut just seemed odd with it. Maybe I'm just a Rocky Road gal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Found these to be a little too sweet. I used sweetened coconut so that may be why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Great recipe. My mom makes this every year, she substitutes peanut butter for the butter and uses white mini marshmellows - it is to die for !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShelleyS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Coaldale, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I have made these for as many years as I can remember, and my mom making them before that. The kids (and adults) absolutely love these and they are so simple to make! I do omit the coconut and roll it into a log on powdered sugar coated waxed paper and chill until set. Then, I just cut into circles, that way you can see all the pretty colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
i used i cant believe its not butter and i think i messed it up not enough chocolate. tastes okay but next time i will use real butter and more chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
My hubby and kids dont like the texture of nuts or coconut in their chocolate, and the recipe works just fine without them. Like another reviewer, I also couldnt find rainbow-marshmellows that were "normal" flavored, so we used the colored marshmellows that are fruit-flavored. Growing up, these cookies were always brought to every church Christmas party...these are just like I remember them. I also prefer to put the marshety-choco mix in a long log down the center of a sheet of wax paper, twist off the ends and secure with twisty-ties, and then refrigerate overnight or for several hours before slicing them. To store them, I put them in an air tight tin separating the layers with sheets of wax paper. I recommend keeping them in a cool spot to keep the chocolate nice and firm until ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I made these with my mom when I was younger and it was great to find the recipe. I leave out the coconut and they look and taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I grew up making these with my mom and I never knew that there was actually a recipe out there. They are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
These are FABULOUS! I did not role out the dough, though, I prefer my scones less neat. I used a large spoon and dropped them on a cookie sheet like cookie dough. Then with a fork I smashed them down some and then backed. Cooking time is a little longer as they are not as thin, but you can tell they are done. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States