Church-Window Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I've made these for over 35 years. They are always a big hit. You can also make these with semi-sweet Chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
My mom used to make something very similar to these every year for Christmas...minus the coconut and with a cookie crust in a 9 X 13 pan. They were always a favorite of mine they are pretty and so yummy...I might have to bring back the tradition and add the coconut to change it up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I tried this and I think the recipe needs to be a little more specific regarding what you do after you remove from heat. After following the directions, I read other recipes on this site for the same thing and it says to let cool. Then it goes on to say add marshmallows etc. So the marshmallows melted into the hot chocolate and the windows didn't look quite as they should. It also changed the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KattCooks
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I love these! I have made them for years, I originally had them at my ex-mother-in-law's way back in the 70's. Yesterday I made them with Jet-Puffed Fruit Mallows. I think they turned out great and love the banana flavor in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KattCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugatuck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Yummy, enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I was so excited when I found this recipe... then I made it. Gloppy! No where on the recipe does it say to wait to put the marshmallows in. For this fairly inexperienced baker - very diappointing - People have to write recipes with even the obvious spelled out. The only upside was that it still tasted good :) . I will not be putting this batch in the cookie bags for my family this year. I will try it again next year, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Great recipe. I have found that you have to let the chocolate cool. It's easier to handle. Also, someone said you HAVE to use margarine. I tried that and it was too watery. Best to stick with the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
We love these!! I use powdered sugar instead of coconut though. I just spread a little bit out on wax paper, wrap it tightly into a roll (well multiple rolls) freeze for 10 minutes, and rewrap with a little more sugar and finish freezing. I also don't use nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
My mother use to make these at Christmas when I was younger. She passed away last Christmas so guess what I'm going to make this Christmas in her honour. Thanks a million for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This is an old recipe my mom used to make in the 70's. I melted the chocolate and butter carefully in the microwave (watched it closely) without any problems. I also recommend letting the chocolate cool a little before mixing the marshmallows in (maybe 5 minutes). I also added about 1/4 cup coconut into the mixture. The recommendation from a previous rating to put them into wax-paper lined empty foil boxes (or cling wrap boxes, etc) worked great. Also, I used semi-sweet chips and they were fine. And I omitted the nuts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENWHITT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States