Chunky Vegetarian Vegetable Soup (Fast and Easy) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This soup is absolutely delicious! You can use any vegetables you desire especially now (summer)with all of the fresh vegetables in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I did make some substitutions. It was delicious! A nice way to use some veggies that I may not otherwise eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I made this recipe but used green peas instead of okra and added crushed red pepper flakes, oregano, fresh rosemary, and a little basil in addition to the salt and pepper just because I had some spices on hand. It turned out great. I loved all the different colors, tastes, and textures from all the veggies. It is very healthy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie626
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Great soup. Substituted grean beans and peas for the okra and edamame just because that is what I had on hand. I liked that this soup didn't have an overly acidic, tomato flavor. The corn gave it a nice sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Delicious! I used home canned tomatoes, broth made with water+McKay's chick seasoning, extra of all veggies, extra garlic, and Yukon gold potatoes. This is the best chili I have ever tasted. Thanks for the blessing of tasty, healthy food:-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I did like it, but I added way more salt. As written I think it is pretty bland. I made it as written and after tasting added some dried oregano, fresh basil, and thyme, with extra extra black pepper. Like another reviewer, I liked the fact that is wasn't so tomatoey. I usually do not eat okra, but it was very enjoyable in this recipe. A good basic recipe waiting for added special touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin MaLoon Rowley

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Very easy and very good. I basically followed the recipe but used 1 can of Swanson vegetarian vegetable broth + 2 Telma vegetable seasoning cubes and filled the empty broth can with water and added that. I used the fresh onions, carrots, garlic and potatoes as directed as well as the tomato sauce but used 1 bag of Kroger's frozen mixed vegetables for soup. This mix has limas, green beans and okra - among other things. I then added two large handfuls of frozen chopped kale. I did not add any salt as the Telma cubes provided plenty. I served it with hot whole grain bread. It made enough for my husband and me to have generous bowls with 1 1/2 qts left over. A wonderfully comforting supper on this freezing cold night with snow flurries outside the windows. I will be making this often. Thanks very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent. We love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This soup is good!! I subsituted the carrots for pumpkin and used frozen mixed vegetables that included both the carrots and corn. Did not used the okra or edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Our family loved this soup. My husband especially raved about it. Like most, I didn't have every ingredient but was able to substitute other ingredients easily. My only critical feedback would be that it took MUCH longer than ~15 minutes to cook the carrots & potatoes, but perhaps I used larger slices/chunks. We will make this recipe for many meals to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States