Chunky Vegetarian Vegetable Soup (Fast and Easy) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is a regular on my meal "schedule"... because it's clean and tastes great. I substituted the baked potato for sweet potato, to make it a wee bit more nutritious. And the kale for spinach (just didn't have kale on hand). I love that it is sweet from the corn. Yum-my.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was excellent. The kale-okra-celery combination is what drew me to this recipe. Don't substitute the okra if at all possible! I made almost no changes -- I just added some baby lima beans (personal taste), and to give it an extra zing I threw in some Crystal hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is fantastic! I get a big thumbs up from my son as well. I didn't have edamame or kale but I added green beans. It's very easy to customize it to your preferences. I didn't have to add any salt at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Our family loved this soup. My husband especially raved about it. Like most, I didn't have every ingredient but was able to substitute other ingredients easily. My only critical feedback would be that it took MUCH longer than ~15 minutes to cook the carrots & potatoes, but perhaps I used larger slices/chunks. We will make this recipe for many meals to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This soup is good!! I subsituted the carrots for pumpkin and used frozen mixed vegetables that included both the carrots and corn. Did not used the okra or edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent. We love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Very easy and very good. I basically followed the recipe but used 1 can of Swanson vegetarian vegetable broth + 2 Telma vegetable seasoning cubes and filled the empty broth can with water and added that. I used the fresh onions, carrots, garlic and potatoes as directed as well as the tomato sauce but used 1 bag of Kroger's frozen mixed vegetables for soup. This mix has limas, green beans and okra - among other things. I then added two large handfuls of frozen chopped kale. I did not add any salt as the Telma cubes provided plenty. I served it with hot whole grain bread. It made enough for my husband and me to have generous bowls with 1 1/2 qts left over. A wonderfully comforting supper on this freezing cold night with snow flurries outside the windows. I will be making this often. Thanks very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I did like it, but I added way more salt. As written I think it is pretty bland. I made it as written and after tasting added some dried oregano, fresh basil, and thyme, with extra extra black pepper. Like another reviewer, I liked the fact that is wasn't so tomatoey. I usually do not eat okra, but it was very enjoyable in this recipe. A good basic recipe waiting for added special touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Delicious! I used home canned tomatoes, broth made with water+McKay's chick seasoning, extra of all veggies, extra garlic, and Yukon gold potatoes. This is the best chili I have ever tasted. Thanks for the blessing of tasty, healthy food:-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie626
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Great soup. Substituted grean beans and peas for the okra and edamame just because that is what I had on hand. I liked that this soup didn't have an overly acidic, tomato flavor. The corn gave it a nice sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States