Chunky Vegetarian Vegetable Soup (Fast and Easy) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I loved all the ingredients, but it was boring. I won't make it again. There are too many other easy basic soup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I love this soup! I did make some changes; I added 6 cups of water (I like a thinner base), used kosher salt (which I believe is what the recipe intended), A LOT more fresh ground pepper, and used golden potatoes (skin on). NOTE: You should cook your carrots and potatoes prior to adding. Great with fresh baked bread =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this soup this summer because I had an abundance of okra. I was kinda sick of okra at that point so I froze all the soup. I have finally gotten around to thawing it, and it is wonderful! A burst of summer on a cold winter's day. I followed the recipe as written, except substituted sweet potatoes for white potatoes for a little extra nutritional value. I think you could play with the vegetables, using what's fresh/what you happen to have and you would still get a great result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made this soup this evening. So very delicious, thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
My favorite vegetable soup ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I throw in the edamame with the potatoes so it can soften a little more. This is a really good vegetable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Used what I had on hand. Fresh celery, onions, garlic, carrots, a couple of tablespoons of commercial sofrito sauce, smoked paprika, bay, salt and pepper to taste. 2 cups vegetable stock and two cups water, 2 cups of tomato sauce,frozen okra, frozen kale, canned corn and a can of canellini beans (to replace the potatoes). It was hearty and filling and pretty tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is a great soup. I played with the vegetables and didn't use any potatoes. I roasted two green peppers, which gave the soup a smoky flavor. I also added fresh thyme and basil. This is a very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Ohio, USA
Living In: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This gets 5 stars for its health value and how quick and easy it is to make. 4 or 4.5 stars for taste - it's very yummy but not orgasmically delicious. Still one of the best vegetables soups I've ever made. I did what most of the other reviewers did - I improvised on ingredients to suit what I had on hand: chick peas instead of edamame, mushrooms instead of okra, lots of kale (is the 2 leaves a misprint?), about 3 or 4 cups chopped, copious amount of fresh herbs - basil, oregano, thyme and parsley, about a cup or more chopped and compressed, 1 tsp of Aleppo pepper (Next time I'll heap it a bit), grated cheese (I used sharp cheddar) sprinkled in each bowl when served. I read that herbs are full of phytonutrients that are particularly beneficial to us. And it's a win-win - using large amounts of fresh herbs is delicious. I also used purple potatoes for the same reason. If you haven't tried Aleppo pepper yet I highly recommend you do. I use it in place of red pepper flakes in everything now. It has a richer, sweeter, and milder taste. The soup was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I have an MSG sensitivity so I can't eat the canned veggie soup and so I searched around and found this. I use a broth that does not contain MSG. I use Creole Seasoning to spice it up and keep the sodium content down. It is fantastic! In the winter I used a bag of frozen veggies and now I'll be using fresh vegetables from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States