Chunky Vegetarian Vegetable Soup (Fast and Easy) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This soup is good!! I subsituted the carrots for pumpkin and used frozen mixed vegetables that included both the carrots and corn. Did not used the okra or edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Very easy and very good. I basically followed the recipe but used 1 can of Swanson vegetarian vegetable broth + 2 Telma vegetable seasoning cubes and filled the empty broth can with water and added that. I used the fresh onions, carrots, garlic and potatoes as directed as well as the tomato sauce but used 1 bag of Kroger's frozen mixed vegetables for soup. This mix has limas, green beans and okra - among other things. I then added two large handfuls of frozen chopped kale. I did not add any salt as the Telma cubes provided plenty. I served it with hot whole grain bread. It made enough for my husband and me to have generous bowls with 1 1/2 qts left over. A wonderfully comforting supper on this freezing cold night with snow flurries outside the windows. I will be making this often. Thanks very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is a regular on my meal "schedule"... because it's clean and tastes great. I substituted the baked potato for sweet potato, to make it a wee bit more nutritious. And the kale for spinach (just didn't have kale on hand). I love that it is sweet from the corn. Yum-my.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Vander
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Love it! I am on a very restricted diet, so couldn't use the corn and potato, but added zuccini, cabbage and baby spinach. Also, used lots of herbs to spice it up. It changes every time I make it, but it's always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent. We love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Our family loved this soup. My husband especially raved about it. Like most, I didn't have every ingredient but was able to substitute other ingredients easily. My only critical feedback would be that it took MUCH longer than ~15 minutes to cook the carrots & potatoes, but perhaps I used larger slices/chunks. We will make this recipe for many meals to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is fantastic! I get a big thumbs up from my son as well. I didn't have edamame or kale but I added green beans. It's very easy to customize it to your preferences. I didn't have to add any salt at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was excellent. The kale-okra-celery combination is what drew me to this recipe. Don't substitute the okra if at all possible! I made almost no changes -- I just added some baby lima beans (personal taste), and to give it an extra zing I threw in some Crystal hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very tasty. You'd think there are spices in it, but there aren't. And so healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Everyone in my family loved it and we have very different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States