Chunky Tomato Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Really tasty and chunk. I too used the crockpot, actually overnight, and the vegetables did not get too squishy. Instead of corn starch, I added a few mashed potato flakes -- tastier and just as effective.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Absolutely loved this soup. I use this use TIP and stir in my dry potato flakes for thickening plus adds flavor at the same time...try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I wasn't sure how this would come out, but it was excellent! Only changes: I cooked the onions in olive oil, and added parsley flakes, garlic salt, celery salt, and oregano. I did everything else exactly as the recipe called for, and I will definitely be making it again. So easy but such an awesome twist on regular tomato soup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Super Yummy! I always add my cornstarch to a little bit of water and wisk it ... add the water mix to the soup - it never clumps this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClemMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hebron, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Used pureed fresh tomatoes instead of canned ones. I didn't use the full amount of potatoes or onion, and used equal amounts of milk and broth. However, I found this soup to be way too thick. I think maybe increasing the total amount to 3 cups milk and 3 cups broth would work better. Seriously, it was so thick, you would have thought it was baby food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was great! I made it into more a vegetable soup by adding about a cup of fresh green beans, a can of corn, and 2 cups of diced onion. I omitted the celery, but added some celery salt for the flavor. My boyfriend finished most of it before he even thought about the fact that there was no meat! Thanks for a hearty, healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
We love this soup!! Be sure to let it simmer for at least an hour. I always double the minced garlic (adding it to the onions to sautee about 20 seconds before adding the other veggies), use 2 cups of chicken broth, and add 2T fresh chopped basil to it 15-20 minutes before serving. Great flavor! Substituting an 8oz can of tomato sauce for the tomato paste doesn't hurt the overall outcome at all. I will usually add a couple cooked & cubed chicken breasts for the hubby to make it even heartier (use a total of 3-4 cups chicken broth if adding chicken). Highly recommended! Per another reviewer, I've found that 1 1/2 tsp salt & 3/4 tsp of ground white or black pepper is perfect. I have also made a vegetarian version with vegetable broth instead of chicken broth for a vegetarian family member and it was a huge hit! If you don't mind the added calories, topping your bowls of soup with a sprinkle of shredded italian four cheese blend is really yummy! Thank you so much for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
To us, this tasted kind of like beef stew without the beef. It was good, but tasted like it was missing something. After simmering and adding salt and pepper, I added some seasoned salt, about half a teaspoon. Garnished with a dollop of sour cream and that helped a bit, but probably won't make this one again. Thanks anyway! Served with a cheddar bay biscuit clone. I'm going to add some cooked chicken tomorrow to the leftovers and see if that makes it more to our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Very good, VERY HEARTY soup recipe. Excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This recipe was great!! I modified it a bit, used 1/2 cup of dry milk powder and 2 extra cups of chicken broth, and I cooked the carrots and potatoes in a separate pan until they were "Nearly done" Then I added them to the soup. It worked out awesome! We will add this to our family recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States