Chunky Tomato Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
YUMMY!!!!! I made this soup last night in the crock pot. It was YUMMO...LOL..i made a few changes though. I used 4 Tbsp of butter (Big Fan of Ms. Dean) 5 large potatos, 4 stalks of celery(diced) 1 cup of baby carrots, 2 whole tomatoes cubed, 2 whole onions diced, dash of rosemary, 2 Tbsp of italian seasoning, 2 cups of milk, 2 cups of chicken broth, ( almost the same) half a can of red beans w/o the liquid) and i added a whole keilbasa. i had no cornstarch so i put a little bit of flour ...i was cookin it on the stovetop but it was taking too long and i had to go somehwere so i put it in the crockpot for about 4 hrs on low (long enough to cook the potatoes...) when it was done i served it with croissant sandwiches...so hearty and when my hubby asked me what it was called i said HEARTY MAN SOUP...he loved it. so fibrous and healthy....... when done add salt and pepper to taste to your liking....will make again.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This is one of the best soup recipes I have ever made! I have been searching for a recipe like this, we have a local restaurant that serves a baked tomato soup with veggies in it that is out of this world, and this is the closest I've ever come to recreating it. I changed a few things, I used a 28oz can of tomatoes, and pureed them before adding them to the soup. I also omitted the celery, as we don't prefer it. I added grated parmesan cheese on top, but am going to try feta cheese next time. Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIGUILDERSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This recipe is really surprising -even after all the reviews, I didn't think it'd be that good. It was though, really good. After sauteing the onions, spices and garlic, I "deglazed" the pan with a bit of white wine, waited til it had evaporated and then added the others according to the recipe. I used primarily fresh herbs, making up my own Italian seasoning, and finished the soup with a touch of sherry and more fresh herbs. Presented with fresh rosemary and shredded parmesan, and served with garlic herbed scones. Healthy, sophisicated, delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
A fabulous, easy soup...it was perfect for a rainy night. I added two chicken breasts cut into bite sized pieces to make it a little bit heartier for my hard working man, and we ate it with warm french bread...yum! ;) Infinitely better than soup from a can! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I have made this soup 4 times and love it! It is a mellow, creamy comfort soup and is not meant to be super spicy. Make sure that you use enough onion and garlic. The first 2 times I did not have a premixed Italian seasoning so I used a combination of dried basil, oregano and rosemary. I think the flavor of this soup develops as it stands so I suggest making it a little ahead of time and letting it "sit" for at least 30 minutes before serving. As you would imagine the leftovers are wonderful. Great with grilled cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This is so good! So fresh tasting. I did have to cook mine longer. I used less potato. I didn't have tomato paste so I used 1 sm can of tomato sauce. I wasn't sure what kind of tomatoes to use so I used a can of diced petite tomatoes. Before serving sprinkled with parmesan & Italian Herb Seasoning from a grinder. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This is a great recipe!! My husband hates potatoes in soup and he had two bowls. I served it with beer bread. Perfect for supper on a cold Sunday night. Also, I let it simmmer for much longer than called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I'm not sure what I was expecting, but I wasn't overly impressed with this. It was like a vegetable stew, in need of sliced kielbasa or pasta or something. It also confirmed what I have been suspecting for a while: that I personally prefer creamy smooth soups. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This was ok. I thought the broth was good but the potatoes seemed very bland. We ended up adding a lot of garlic salt and pepper to make the soup more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Very yummy! I made this for my teammates in China and they asked me to make it again. I had no cornstarch, but it didn't make a difference. Very tasty and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zorphth44
Living In: Russellville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States