Chunky Tomato Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by hothilary36
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
As written bland, make changes with seasonings if you make. I added salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I also blended some of my soup at the end to give it a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Tasty soup. My husband added 1/2 tsp thyme and 2 cans of clams. A bottle of clam juice would be perfect too. It turned into a wonderful Manhatten Clam Chowder. With some french bread we had a very tasty dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I modified this slightly. I used Italian stewed tomatoes and left out the Italian spice. I used two cans of the tomatoes and left out the paste. I also substituted the celery with zucchini and baby corn. This was yummy and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I did this in the crockpot with the following recommended modifications: doubled the garlic, 28 oz can diced tomatoes instead of 14.5 z whole, additional 3/4 c chix broth, one sliced zucchini, and additional 1 T tomato paste. I did 1.5 tsp salt and .75 tsp white pepper. It took *forever* to get the potatoes cooked (12 hours on high?) - but maybe that's because the ol' crockpot might be dying on me - and then I added the cornstarch diluted in the milk. It was just ok. I doubt I'll be making again, for all that work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeF64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Very little flavor and I couldn't think of anything to add to it to make it better. I don't like standing in the kitchen chopping veggies that long for a dish ... if I do, it better be worth it! This wasn't ... maybe I'm just not a good enough cook to figure out what to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This soup was excellent. The next day I added cooked rice when I reheated it. Will make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
not a fan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
We like tomato soup, and we like potato soup, but we did not like this combination of ingredients. We felt it was bland and that the italian seasoning dominated the soup. We did like the overall texture of the soup, and I added other seasonings to salvage it for a meal, but won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Not bad. Reminds me of vodka penne without the vodka or penne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very good. Mixed the tomato paste in with fire roasted tomatoes. Also put the corn starch in to the milk, blended it before adding it to the veggies. A little too much onion for me and I added a dash of cayenne pepper. My husband liked it and said I could make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States