Chunky Tomato Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Nice tomato flavor. I added a lot more veg to make it a nice low points WW meal. I added a tsp of hot pepper flakes just for personal preference. Will make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Excellent recipe! I didn't have any regular potatoes on hand so substituted with sweet potatoes. Yum! Super easy and full of flavour. Hubby who is not a big soup fan went back for seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Really tasty and simple to make. I used a 28oz can of tomatoes and after cooking the onions, poatoes,carrots, spice and milk I added the remaining ingredients to the crockpot to simmer all day. Next time I will add the amount of tomatoes called for to have a creamier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is really delicious! I made it exactly as written, and I wouldn't change it. Give this one a try, I'm sure you will love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLOUDLESS
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is my favourite winter time soup. I cut my pieces of potato pretty small, so that may account for the difference in cooking time. I find this is best made with a 2% milk or higher, but that's just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Good, but not outstanding for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This soup is lovely. I made a few important changes, however. I doubled the quantity of tomatoes, eliminated the cornstarch (didn't make any difference, so why add it), and most critical, simmered the soup for two hours instead of 20 minutes. My whole family loves the soup, even my 8 year-old son who, on principle, hates all fruits and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I have made this soup 4 times and love it! It is a mellow, creamy comfort soup and is not meant to be super spicy. Make sure that you use enough onion and garlic. The first 2 times I did not have a premixed Italian seasoning so I used a combination of dried basil, oregano and rosemary. I think the flavor of this soup develops as it stands so I suggest making it a little ahead of time and letting it "sit" for at least 30 minutes before serving. As you would imagine the leftovers are wonderful. Great with grilled cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Way too much italian seasoning. I had to add a lot of chicken stock just to counter act the seasoning. We didn't like this much. The photos really make it look appealing but not so much in person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama to JRG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I used 1/2 the amount of celery, 1/2 the amount of Italian seasonings and added frozen corn. It was more like a creamy tomato veggie soup. It was very tasty. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States