Chunky Tomato Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Made for 6 servings. Tripled the amount of garlic called for. At the point where the recipe says to add milk and bring to boil - there wasn't really enough liquid. Added the water/boullion at this point to get all veggies under the liquid level to cook them. Came out perfectly - veggies were not too hard, not too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Should just be called potato soup. I could barely taste the tomato at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELAFEERO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skagway, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
A very good hearty soup. I had to cook it quite a bit longer than specified here though, my potatoes and carrots were still raw at the end of the 20 minutes. Still, when it was done, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Wonderful taste - rich and creamy soup, but with the lovely chunks of healthy veges. Didn't change a thing except that I replaced chicken broth with plain water to cater for a vegetarian guest. I didn't think it was necessary to make vege stock separately since it would have been the same ingredients anyway! Didn't detract from the taste at all. Made it twice already for company, and my guests were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This was really really good, I loved the broth. I added kidney beans (which didn't do much for the flavor), and smoked sausage (which was good). I think next time I'll put some cut up squash or zucchini and maybe mini meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I wasnt paying attention and forgot to add the broth, but it still came out great! Also, I didnt have canned tomatoes so I threw a few fresh ones in the food processor and used that instead (added them before the milk). I think this recipe is a great one to have printed in your kitchen bc you can easily substitute ingredients and make it with whatever you have on hand (as long as you have potatoes). This one's a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
we enjoyed this, but it definitely needs a bit of tweaking. i love stew type soups, but this was really stodgy! i scaled it down for 4, which required half a can of tomatoes, but i ended up chucking in the lot. i might omit the cornstarch next time and see if that helps. i also threw in a handful of elbow macaroni. next day when reheating it, i added some white wine and some water to it to give it a bit more liquid consistancy, and added some lemon juice and it made a world of difference. i served it sprinkled with grated cheese. think i'll add some red bell pepper next time for a slightly fruitier taste too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
It sounded better than it tasted! We had some but I don't think I'll be serving this one again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
One of the best soups I have tasted! I added spicy turkey sausage and only used one onion instead of two. Two seemed like overkill. Very flavorful and was great over some Italian herb polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
A good recipe, but it wasn't a 5-star. Good flavor, consistency. It will take longer than 20 minutes of simmering to soften the potatoes and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States