Chunky Tomato Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
It took an hour to cook, not 20 minutes. It tasted okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made it last week. Great recipe! Changed the serving for two as I live by myself. I was looking for a meatless soup for Lent and this was perfect! Only thing I changed up was replacing the celery with chopped basil instead, and a handful of spinach (greens I had in the fridge). Serve with pesto on top and a side of bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Yu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EmineIljazi
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I just finished making this, it is excellent! Didn't change a thing! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
so bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This is a great base recipe! I took aleismommy's advice and made this in the crockpot, I let it go for 4 1/2. My husband is Mexican, so he's always asking for spiced up recipes, and this does well with the heat turned up! I added a small can of green chiles, substituted tomato based sofrito for the tomato paste, and substituted adobo for the italian seasoning and salt. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I loved this ... family didn't want potato in their tomato spoil sports....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy McKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Low fat, healthy and delicious? Awesome! I just made this tonight for dinner and we all loved it. Living in China, I don't have all ingredients available at all times but the only sub I had to do was fresh tomatoes for the canned, and added more paste to give it more of a tomato flavor. It is also very easy to throw together once everything is chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
A great hearty and healthy soup! I added a cup of alphabet pasta during the last six minutes and omitted the milk and cornstarch since the starchiness of the pasta thickened the soup quite well. I also seasoned with a few dashes of smoked paprika, a pinch of cayenne and a tsp or two of sugar to add some depth. I sauteed some cubed chicken breast (marinated in lemon juice, minced garlic and EVOO for an hour) and added it in at the last moment, too. Delicious! Sometimes something so simple can be so good. A soup tip to remember: the longer you simmer, the tastier it'll be. I simmered for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I made this recipe and it turned out pretty well, however, the taste was a little bland so I added some cheese to it and that really helped. I also did not use the recommended number of potatoes either. I do not plan on making this recipe again. -Jessica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Pretty good, nice and thick for a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States