Chunky Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
It may be because the vegetable juice it the main flavoring that I didn't care for it. I tried added some spices, and it is still mild. It takes less time than many stews, but I would rather spend the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I've made this recipe several times and feel it is a great base recipe for stew. However, as other reviewers have mention I too feel it needs more flavor. I added a full 48oz of Spicy Hot Vegetable Juice, cayenne pepper, onion and garlic salts, italian seasoning and a little old bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Unimpressive. Absolutely no flavor what-so-ever. I managed to save it with 5 bay leaves and a TON of Montreal Steak seasoning. Also, 30 minutes wasn't enough time to soften the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Wimpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I made this for a wine tasting party I had. It was really good. I also made a chicken rice soup that was awesome and kind of overshadowed this one. I added a couple of bags of frozen vegetables (chopped broccoli and french cut green beans) which were excellent. Initially it was really bland so I added spices (italian seasoning and lot of course sea salt, celery salt and fresh ground pepper) to give it flavor and that really did the trick. It's a good (maybe not great) recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Delicious!! I used about 1 1/2 tsp of salt free garlic herb seasoning and stirred in 4oz cheddar at the end. I could eat this every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
It was simple and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Very good very easy . like how you could make it your own.I might try this next time with stew meat . excellent and made it for company comin over. Sprinkle cheese is very good add at the table. I added red peppers garlic onion salt and italian seasoning. also used a ground sirloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is pretty much what a nutritionist told me about many years ago. I sometimes use chicken, instead of ground beef, or it can be just vegetables. I generally use mixed veggies and add whatever I want...potatoes, onions, black eyed peas, lima beans, minced garlic...whatever! Cover with the vegetable juice and season how you like it. This is as good as you wanna make it. Just put the stuff YOU like in it. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Sorry, but this was awful. I hate that I made my kids eat atleast ive bites before, I realized how awful it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek's Girlfriend

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States