Chunky Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was great, I did make one change. My family doesn't care for the frozen mixed veggies because they don't like everything in them. So, I just added frozen veggies we like. We like carrots, potatoes, corn etc. They cannot stand the green beans. I loved this though and it is added to my stew rotation. And for some reason during the fall and winter I make that a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is pretty much what a nutritionist told me about many years ago. I sometimes use chicken, instead of ground beef, or it can be just vegetables. I generally use mixed veggies and add whatever I want...potatoes, onions, black eyed peas, lima beans, minced garlic...whatever! Cover with the vegetable juice and season how you like it. This is as good as you wanna make it. Just put the stuff YOU like in it. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
My picky family loved this. I have tried a number of stews with them and this is the only one they ever liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Very good very easy . like how you could make it your own.I might try this next time with stew meat . excellent and made it for company comin over. Sprinkle cheese is very good add at the table. I added red peppers garlic onion salt and italian seasoning. also used a ground sirloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Delicious!! I used about 1 1/2 tsp of salt free garlic herb seasoning and stirred in 4oz cheddar at the end. I could eat this every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
It was simple and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I've made this recipe several times and feel it is a great base recipe for stew. However, as other reviewers have mention I too feel it needs more flavor. I added a full 48oz of Spicy Hot Vegetable Juice, cayenne pepper, onion and garlic salts, italian seasoning and a little old bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This recipe is so easy to make and it tastes great. I followed the recipe to a tee and it had great flavor. We make this recipe a lot during those cold winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This recipe was very good, however, it took a lot of tweaking. I added spices besides salt and pepper (cayenne, garlic powder, etc.). I also put in 6 potatos and used more juice cocktail then recommended. Although, all in all it was extremely simple and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I made this for a wine tasting party I had. It was really good. I also made a chicken rice soup that was awesome and kind of overshadowed this one. I added a couple of bags of frozen vegetables (chopped broccoli and french cut green beans) which were excellent. Initially it was really bland so I added spices (italian seasoning and lot of course sea salt, celery salt and fresh ground pepper) to give it flavor and that really did the trick. It's a good (maybe not great) recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States