Chunky Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This recipe is really good but a bit watery, I like a thick soup. I add a can of Campbell's cream of potato for thickness delicious! Today I plan on switching it with cream of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This is my favorite potato soup recipe (don't tell my mom!). I don't add the carrot usually, and I've never tried it with the swiss, but the case recipe is great! Creamier and more flavorful than other recipes I've made. It is one of our winter staples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah.antoinette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Good Soup! Do you think it can be frozen?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neil Leveridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I add bacon bits and chopped baby carrots. It is the best potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
So yummy...best potato soup I have had ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcsanady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This soup is outstanding. All of my potato soup recipes are built around ham or applewood bacon, so when my Dad kept asking for potato soup without meat, I was stumped. I tried this recipe, and it is so much better than my fancier recipes, I have pretty much replaced them in favor of making this one, and I have made it again and again and again. It is rich and creamy. I use half and half instead of milk, and I don't bother with parsley because I am not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
dave gives this soup a 4.2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: New River, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Very flavorful. I added garlic and half and half as recommended by reviewers as well as added frozen peas and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Followed as written, it was great. I did add some garlic to the milk mixture per other reviewers comments. Served with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I used red potatoes because they were all I had. Had to cook them longer to get them tender. This was very good soup. Like mama used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States