Chunky Monkey Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These were great, probably would make again for the kids but not my husband and I. My youngest inhaled this but my husband and I thought they were a bit rich. I liked the combination of the banana and pecans, just thought the chocolate took it over the top. I did follow another reviewers advice and add another small chopped banana and used buttermilk. Again, another reviewer had it on the money that this recipe is a true kid pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
These were amazing! I made these for breakfast this morning. My kids inhaled them! Even my neighbors son came in and devoured 2. I didn't change a thing. They are perfect as is. I have been looking for a good banana pancake recipe and my hubby has been looking for a choc chip pancake recipe and this is perfect! Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
These were really good! They were a big hit with the kids. I wasn't sure about leaving the bananas chunked up, but it was SO delicious!! Thanks, crazycat, for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Hubs is all about Chunky Monkey Ice Cream and when I saw this recipe I knew it was going to be a winner for him. I’ve had it printed out since March of 2009 and it is now dog-eared from dragging it out as weekend after weekend would go by with unfulfilled good intentions of making these. Today was finally the day. We were not disappointed “CCL” - these are, indeed, a winner and I’m sure you don’t mind that I made some small changes that didn’t change your lovely recipe. I didn’t measure the chocolate chips, just tossed them in until it looked right for me. I used buttermilk, mainly because I had some that needed to be used – the baking soda required for that was already in your recipe so it worked well. As for the bananas, I have fond memories of how I loved my mother’s banana pancakes and I can still picture her slicing them into the batter, so I had to do the same. Diced or sliced, either is better than mashing them in my opinion. I love the creamy pieces of banana in the pancakes and not just the flavor of them. Finally, I left out the nuts, just because we preferred our pancakes without. Rich, delicious and decadent, these satisfied my curiosity as well as my craving. As for Hubs, the guy who loves Chunky Monkey ice cream, he gave these the “thumbs up, make again.”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
These are quite possibly the yummiest pancakes I have ever had. I followed the recipe exactly as it is, and they turned out fluffy and perfect. 5 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
What a treat! I made a few changes: used 1/2 whole wheat flour, mashed the bananas and used veg. oil instead of butter (too lazy to melt it). I also omitted the nuts (personal preference). They rose up beautifully fluffy. I didn't have mini choc. chips, so I used regular, and I think that made them a little too rich! If I make these again, I will probably use less choc. chips. Otherwise, very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
The batter was a bit too think for me so I ended up adding an extra 1/3 cup of flour, then it seemed perfect. My first two pancakes I put on the griddle without the extra flour were very flat, after the flour, puffy and nice! I loved them, Grumpy said he could do without the chocolate....but he's picky anyway! Great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
REALLY, seriously good! Did not change a single thing. My 10 yo had a house full of boys overnight. Only problem now, they want another sleepover next weekend! Thanks for the recipe, CCL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
YUMMY!!! I made these this morning for our kids and a sleep over guest. My husband is the king of pancakes in our house, and my kids all said "these are better than dad's" and the guest said that they were better than his mom's. So I will be keeping this recipe close. I will also be trying it will blueberries and maybe white chocolate chips. Excellent base for just about anything you could come up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Super yummy pancakes. We didn't change a thing. It yields 9 pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States