Chunky Monkey Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
WOW! Made per the recipe and they were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Very good. Banana adds a lot of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
These were alright. Of all the pancakes I've eaten (and I've had a fair share in my lifetime lol!), these aren't top on my "favorites" list. The texture was not to my liking at all, but then again, (as the title implies) these ARE CHUNKY monkey pancakes. If you like bananas, nuts and chocolate (and a chunky texture), you'll LOVE these. Admittedly, I enjoy all of these ingredients, but not in pancake form. I guess I'm a traditionalist at heart.... :) I might give these another try, but will definitely omit the nuts (I'd use as garnish instead), MASH my bananas (as opposed to dicing them) and substitute peanut butter swirl morsels for the chocolate chips called for (there's just something INTOXICATING about the combo of chocolate, PB and banana together). A drizzle of maple syrup and Hershey's chocolate sauce made for a decadently sweet treat. If for nothing else, I was at least able to enjoy breakfast for dinner, something I don't do often. Thanks for sharing your recipe, CCL! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Made this for my children this weekend, they all loved the pancakes. The batter did make a small batch though so I would probably double it. I left out the nuts as we don't care for them. I loved these pancakes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This recipe was amazing and I don't even really like chocolate chips in pancakes very much. I didn't have any pecans but I bet they'd be even better with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I changed these up a bit based on the ingredients I had in the house. Instead of chocolate chips, I used creamed cinnamon honey for the added sweetness, and I omitted the pecans and vanilla. Turned out delicious, and no syrup was needed. I will definitely make again, and eventually try out the recipe with chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I've been making something like this for a while but used complete pancake mix. I decided to try this to see if it would be better. I didn't have skim milk and used 1% and didn't have pecans. I usually mash my bananas, personal preference. Also I don't add the chocolate chips in the batter since they tend to sink to the bottom or cluster on the pan. I pour the batter then sprinkle the chips on the top. The consistancy was a bit thin for me. Whenever I make this with a different recipe, I make a peanut butter syrup. 2 big scoopfuls of chucky peanut butter and 1/2 cup of pancake syrup. Microwave for 30 seconds, take out, stir, and microwave for 20 seconds. It's a very sweet combo, but my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
These were very good, the kids approve! I think it tastes like chocolate chip banana bread. I used 2% milk and used 1 cup instead otherwise the mix was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
These got mixed reviews at our house. One of the kids loved them, the hubby thought they were okay, and the other kids just sort of liked them. The consistency turned out weird for me and the flavor was not outstanding, but the chocolate made them yummy for those who liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I made these today for my grandsons. I only put chocolate chips in and used buttermilk need to use it up. We all loved them we ate them all and I doubled the recipe. Thanks for a great pancake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States