Chunky Monkey Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
We loved these pancakes. The only addition I made was to add a little cinnamon. We will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Great panckes! Makes for a very happy wife on Sunday mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
11/9/2014 Update! My stepdaughter was home from college this weekend and specifically requested these as her Sunday morning breakfast. I'm surprised at some of the reviews mentioning the kids do not like the 'chunks'. Must be younger kids than teenagers coz all the kids in our blended family adore these! Fabulous! Always worry pancake recipes will be too sweet but not this one! Great blend of flavors. I had leftover real whipped cream from Thanksgiving...yowza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjohnal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
A new favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
These were great! Served straight off the griddle with some butter--the kids didn't even ask for syrup! They don't like nutty pancakes, but these were still chunky enough. A frozen banana, chopped while still frozen, worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
We are moving and I was trying to get rid of the open pantry items that the movers wouldn't take. I found this recipe and set out to make pancakes that I could freeze for those early school mornings (This recipe freezes really well, cook, cool, layer parchment paper between pancakes and microwave for 30 seconds to a mintute when ready to serve). I had to taste them before I served them of course...think I am on my third, but am losing count rapidly! These are delicious, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
We used 3 mashed bananas, applesauce for all of the butter and butterscotch chips, awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I expected these to turn out very sweet and closer to a dessert-like pancake. I was wrong! These are moist, flavorful, and have just the slightest hint of sweetness. I made them with semi-sweet chips instead. The second time, I made them with only whole wheat flour (red). They were incredibly filling, but still moist and fluffy and yummy. My daughter (7) raved about these and made a special effort to call Dad to tell him about them! I will definitely make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Hubs is all about Chunky Monkey Ice Cream and when I saw this recipe I knew it was going to be a winner for him. I’ve had it printed out since March of 2009 and it is now dog-eared from dragging it out as weekend after weekend would go by with unfulfilled good intentions of making these. Today was finally the day. We were not disappointed “CCL” - these are, indeed, a winner and I’m sure you don’t mind that I made some small changes that didn’t change your lovely recipe. I didn’t measure the chocolate chips, just tossed them in until it looked right for me. I used buttermilk, mainly because I had some that needed to be used – the baking soda required for that was already in your recipe so it worked well. As for the bananas, I have fond memories of how I loved my mother’s banana pancakes and I can still picture her slicing them into the batter, so I had to do the same. Diced or sliced, either is better than mashing them in my opinion. I love the creamy pieces of banana in the pancakes and not just the flavor of them. Finally, I left out the nuts, just because we preferred our pancakes without. Rich, delicious and decadent, these satisfied my curiosity as well as my craving. As for Hubs, the guy who loves Chunky Monkey ice cream, he gave these the “thumbs up, make again.”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Words can not describe how delicious these pancakes were. CCL, thank you so much for sharing. This recipe is five star. The only change I made was used whole milk (DH bought wrong milk this week) and omitted the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcqueenbee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States