Chunky Monkey Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
We are moving and I was trying to get rid of the open pantry items that the movers wouldn't take. I found this recipe and set out to make pancakes that I could freeze for those early school mornings (This recipe freezes really well, cook, cool, layer parchment paper between pancakes and microwave for 30 seconds to a mintute when ready to serve). I had to taste them before I served them of course...think I am on my third, but am losing count rapidly! These are delicious, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
We used 3 mashed bananas, applesauce for all of the butter and butterscotch chips, awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I expected these to turn out very sweet and closer to a dessert-like pancake. I was wrong! These are moist, flavorful, and have just the slightest hint of sweetness. I made them with semi-sweet chips instead. The second time, I made them with only whole wheat flour (red). They were incredibly filling, but still moist and fluffy and yummy. My daughter (7) raved about these and made a special effort to call Dad to tell him about them! I will definitely make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Hubs is all about Chunky Monkey Ice Cream and when I saw this recipe I knew it was going to be a winner for him. I’ve had it printed out since March of 2009 and it is now dog-eared from dragging it out as weekend after weekend would go by with unfulfilled good intentions of making these. Today was finally the day. We were not disappointed “CCL” - these are, indeed, a winner and I’m sure you don’t mind that I made some small changes that didn’t change your lovely recipe. I didn’t measure the chocolate chips, just tossed them in until it looked right for me. I used buttermilk, mainly because I had some that needed to be used – the baking soda required for that was already in your recipe so it worked well. As for the bananas, I have fond memories of how I loved my mother’s banana pancakes and I can still picture her slicing them into the batter, so I had to do the same. Diced or sliced, either is better than mashing them in my opinion. I love the creamy pieces of banana in the pancakes and not just the flavor of them. Finally, I left out the nuts, just because we preferred our pancakes without. Rich, delicious and decadent, these satisfied my curiosity as well as my craving. As for Hubs, the guy who loves Chunky Monkey ice cream, he gave these the “thumbs up, make again.”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Words can not describe how delicious these pancakes were. CCL, thank you so much for sharing. This recipe is five star. The only change I made was used whole milk (DH bought wrong milk this week) and omitted the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
They were good. Thanks for sharing. I omitted the nuts by mistake, but followed everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
These are good, but a little too sweet for me, esp. with the addition of syrup. Don't know if I will make them again, and if I do, it will be with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Outstanding! We topped them with a drizzling of both Karo and chocolate fudge syrup and finished with a dollop of french vanilla whipped topping. Best pancakes EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I made these one Saturday for my boyfriend for brunch and topped with warm maple syrup. I followed the recipe exactly and they were fantastic. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Made as written for a rather critical group of 2 - ten year olds and a five year old. However, they did request that the nuts were to be left out. Awesome and amazing were some of their comments, plus please give this recipe to Mom. Personally I'd cut back on the chocolate chips, but the batter did rise nicely, and they weren't overly sweet before adding the syrup. A perfecr kid pleasing recipe. Thanks Cyndi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 91-100 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States