Chunky Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Super good! I left out the onion since my daughter won't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Super easy to make and delicious atop ravioli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Husband says not to bother buying sauce any more after eating this. Changes: added some black pepper, Italian seasonings, parsley, & basil. Used a (drained) can of diced tomatoes w/ garlic & mushrooms. Could use diced tomatoes w/ jalapeno for more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Forget the can and jar garbage. Learn this recipe and forget about it! Haven't bought a pre-made sauce in almost a year! Flexible enough to make this your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This is a really good basic recipe. Personally, I use canned whole tomatoes (the closest thing you can get to fresh tom's, imo) that I split with my fingers, remove the seeds (which only make the sauce bitter), then roughly chop. Depending on what I'm using it for, I use a hand blender to puree the sauce until it is as smooth/chunky as required (smooth for marinara dipping sauce, chunky for pizza sauce, chunkier for pasta sauce etc). Something else I do (I saw this on tv) is to save the dry rinds from Parmesan, and add those to the sauce. Remove them when you're done, and you've got a lovely subtle flavor. Anyway, I'm looking forward to having this later for dinner with 'Sicilian Meat Roll.' Thanks, Betsy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
A great start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I used dried Italian seasoning instead of just oregano. I impressed my stepmother with my cooking abilities with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
There wasn't much sauce - it was mainly chunks of tomato and onion. It tasted fine - it just needed to be saucier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was easy and yummy! I loved the chunks. My husband said it was better than a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethislife!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
There may be better recipes out there for marinara sauce, but I gave this 5 stars just because I made it exactly as the recipe stated and it was tasty--plus it was super easy and quick and the ingredients are all things you tend to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States