Chunky Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Super good! I left out the onion since my daughter won't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Super easy to make and delicious atop ravioli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Husband says not to bother buying sauce any more after eating this. Changes: added some black pepper, Italian seasonings, parsley, & basil. Used a (drained) can of diced tomatoes w/ garlic & mushrooms. Could use diced tomatoes w/ jalapeno for more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Forget the can and jar garbage. Learn this recipe and forget about it! Haven't bought a pre-made sauce in almost a year! Flexible enough to make this your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This is a really good basic recipe. Personally, I use canned whole tomatoes (the closest thing you can get to fresh tom's, imo) that I split with my fingers, remove the seeds (which only make the sauce bitter), then roughly chop. Depending on what I'm using it for, I use a hand blender to puree the sauce until it is as smooth/chunky as required (smooth for marinara dipping sauce, chunky for pizza sauce, chunkier for pasta sauce etc). Something else I do (I saw this on tv) is to save the dry rinds from Parmesan, and add those to the sauce. Remove them when you're done, and you've got a lovely subtle flavor. Anyway, I'm looking forward to having this later for dinner with 'Sicilian Meat Roll.' Thanks, Betsy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
A great start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I used dried Italian seasoning instead of just oregano. I impressed my stepmother with my cooking abilities with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
There wasn't much sauce - it was mainly chunks of tomato and onion. It tasted fine - it just needed to be saucier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was easy and yummy! I loved the chunks. My husband said it was better than a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethislife!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
There may be better recipes out there for marinara sauce, but I gave this 5 stars just because I made it exactly as the recipe stated and it was tasty--plus it was super easy and quick and the ingredients are all things you tend to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States