Chunky Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This is a great base recipe for a marinara sauce. You can easily add to it peppers, carrots, etc. by lightly suateeing them first. Sweet onions are the best, if available. My one onion was way too huge I realized once I added the tomatoes, so I simply added another can of diced tomatoes and another can of sauce. I used about 6 cloves of garlic, chopped, added crushed red pepper and Italion seasoning, more sugar, and Tony Cachere's, and my dad was literally wiping his plate clean! I did let it simmer for about an hour, too. Served it with angel hair, parmesan breaded chicken breasts and garlic bread...delicious! And easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
good but I had to make a lot of changes to make it to my liking. Very good though! I will still use this recipe but just keep my changes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kater1212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I was skeptical at first that a recipe so simple could taste so yummy, but this was great! I added a little bit of crushed red pepper and about a teaspoon of dried basil to the sauce and I served it over broiled polenta slices--I took it to a dinner party and they were all asking for seconds! I plan on making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bellahay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Very simple, tasty recipe. I can't say I loved it, but I may make again with added seasonings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Yum! Made this sauce to use for eggplant parmesan and it was really awesome! I had to double it for the dish and used every bit of it for one medium sized eggplant. I used 6 garlic cloves, but that's because we are garlic lovers :) I'll be making this sauce from now on instead of buying the canned & jarred stuff since I always have the ingredients on hand. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shiloh, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This recipe was REALLY good...but I did make a few alterations. I didn't add any onion, and doubled the garlic. Also, I added basil. I didn't want it quite as chunky, so I used my hand blender for a few seconds at the end. I allowed it to simmer for about an hour! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethsanchez23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Great recipe. I added 1/2 cup red wine, and my friends thought it was an old family recipe that had cooked all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This is the greatest basic recipe I have ever tried and the only one I will use from now on. It is good on pasta, rice or any casserole requiring a tomato based sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I have been making this sauce for years, except we prefer basil instead of oregano. In a pinch or for a quick sauce, use dried minced onion and garlic salt. And for a more elaborate sauce, add this recipe to any jar of spagetti sauce. Don't be afraid to experiment with different ingredients to find what tastes best to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Because of a special diet I can't use canned tomatoes or paste so I just subbed the same amount of fresh diced tomatoes. There was enough juice from the tomatoes to make it just right. Also, I used 4 cloves of garlic because of personal taste. The addition of fresh basil and oregeno made this dish exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoviceCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grangeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Walker, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States