Chunky Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I love this marinara! It's so easy! I double the garlic and the sugar. This is a snap to make. I like to serve this as an accompaniment for the Zucchini Patties from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
We love it. I've used it for everything from lasanga to stuffed zucchini. I like to put in diffrent herbs depending on my mood. I've also added 1/4lb ground beef and 1/2 lb hot italian turkey sausage to make a fabulous meat sauce for spagetti. It also freezes wonderfully if you want to double your batch and throw it in the freezer for another night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I am giving this 5 stars becuase it was so easy and so tasty. I pretty much followed the recipe except I added some fresh basil and pepper. Good flavors. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Very nice, simple recipe. It's a great base that allows for additions to accommodate your tastes. I added a few more spices (parsley, crushed red pepper, bay leaf), omitted the onion, and sauteed some fresh mushrooms with the garlic at the beginning. I did let it simmer for over an hour because I had the time to do so and I think the longer sauces simmer, the better they taste. This was really great served over penne pasta. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This is a great recipe if you need something quick. My brother was making calamari and forgot to buy some dipping sauce so I whipped up this recipe. I only simmered it for 5 minutes and it still turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
First time was a success. Served this over the Garlic Cheese Chicken Rollups found elsewhere on this site. This sauce was a perfect complement to the chicken. Added another dash of oregano just for a stonger taste and increased the sugar by another 1/2 tsp to flavor the sauce. I don't like sweet marinara sauces and this is nowhere close to that. Definitely a keeper in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaythecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This is a great tasting and easy sauce. The only thing I had to change was to double the recipe, as we like a saucier pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I love this recipe. I've fixed it twice now and I love it. Instead of adding the sugar, I add a couple of carrots and stalks of celery, cut into large chunks so I can remove them after the sauce has finished cooking. Also, if I have it, instead of adding the salt, I add the rind from a wedge of good parmesan and it gives SOOO much great flavor. I like that it's chunky, but you could also take a hand blender to it to smooth it out. Also, just for my personal taste, I grate three cloves of fresh garlic in and use a mix of basil and oregano. You should try this and hopefully you'll love it as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt_simms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This is a great base recipe for a marinara sauce. You can easily add to it peppers, carrots, etc. by lightly suateeing them first. Sweet onions are the best, if available. My one onion was way too huge I realized once I added the tomatoes, so I simply added another can of diced tomatoes and another can of sauce. I used about 6 cloves of garlic, chopped, added crushed red pepper and Italion seasoning, more sugar, and Tony Cachere's, and my dad was literally wiping his plate clean! I did let it simmer for about an hour, too. Served it with angel hair, parmesan breaded chicken breasts and garlic bread...delicious! And easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
good but I had to make a lot of changes to make it to my liking. Very good though! I will still use this recipe but just keep my changes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kater1212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States