Chunky Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Wow! So simple and so tasty! You cannot mess this one up and you can add or subtract any ingredient to taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ridley1344

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
made several times and always expect it to be better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Tasty. Made enough for 1 16 in pizza and some leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This recipe was so easy and delicious!!! I only used half of a sweet onion and that was perfect for my taste. I made this sauce to go with another recipe from this site, which called jarred sauce. It is called 'Sausage and Peppers for a Dozen'. You would have to double this sauce recipe to go along with it. I halved the sausage recipe and it worked great. Thank you so much for this simple and yummy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is such a great base recipe to have in your recipe box. Why buy jarred sauce ever again? I loved it the first time I tried it, as is, but I've tweaked it to my taste the last couple of times I've made this delicious sauce. I tripled the amount of sugar, as I like my sauce a little sweeter. I also added 1/2 tsp of basil. Then, I let the sauce simmer away for about an hour on low temp. Wonderful, mouth-watering stuff to pour over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I loved the taste with the Meatball Nirvana recipe! My boyfriend and I had meatball marinara subs for dinner and he went crazy for them :) I think next time I will blend it though for the subs and use the sauce for dipping breadsticks. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I made a double batch of this to freeze for future use - use about 2/3 cup chopped Vidalia onion, 3 cloves garlic, subbed tomato puree for the sauce. I still only used a scant tsp sugar, but used 2 tsp oregano and added 1 tsp dried basil. I simmered everything for closer to 45 minutes. Came out really good - I'm rating it 4 stars only because we like more garlic and herbs, and I think it would be a little too plain for us without those adjustments, but even as is it's a nice basic marinara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Nice flavour - I added fresh basil and oregano to the sauce. I used 6 roma tomatoes instead of canned tomatoes and added 1- 14 oz can of tomato sauce to the pot. Followed all other directions to a "t" and let simmer away on low all afternoon. Does not make a lot of sauce in one batch, so if looking to feed more than 4 people, you will want to increase ingredients accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Wow - everyone, unfortunately, did not care for this. Only used a small yellow onion and all you could taste was onion. Haven't ever rated a recipe below 3 stars - but wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This recipe gets five stars because it's easy and uses pantry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States