Chunky Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Quick and easy, great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkmerr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Ingredients that are readily on hand, quick to prepare and cook, a snap of a clean-up makes for a great recipe. Here's what I did: pressed 2 small cloves of garlic, 2 8-oz cans (I used too much oregano and added a can to tame it) of tomato sauce, 2 tsp. sugar, 4 oz can of mushrooms. I served this over lemon pepper spaghetti from this sight and covered with Parmesan cheese. Very tasty. I will be making this again and again with even more variations. I think adding Italian sausage, green pepper, zucchini, and/or more will be delicious. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I was out of fresh onion and garlic, so I used minced versions of both. I didn't have a can of diced tomatoes, but I had a can of stewed. I also replaced white sugar with brown sugar (I don't use white sugar for health reasons.) The salt was replaced with garlic salt. This was a solid sauce. Nothing spectacular, but not bad, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I found this recipe several months ago but have not rated yet. It is very good. My grandchildren ate it up, even the one who doesn't like sauce on her spaghetti. I did add ground beef and mushrooms as we prefer it that way. I will no longer purchase canned sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Used fresh tomatoes and canned tomato sauce. With plenty of oregano and basil it turned out fairly well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Very good, but I am not fond of oregano and used basil instead. I would suggest doubling the recipe and if you like mushrooms, canned or fresh, throw those in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Troy, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Used 28oz diced tomatoes (purred in blender) 12oz tomato paste 8iz water 1 T sugar and served with "meatball nirvana " and "jimbos garlic knots" from this site. Sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisMrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
so good you need to double make with chicken cacciatore skillet as the spaghetti sauce. Then have spaghetti the next meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Delish. Added 1 tsp dried oregano, 1 tsp basil, and salt & pepper to our taste. I used a hand blender to make it less chunky. Simmered meatballs in it. Makes enough sauce for about 12 oz of spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by who_me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Flavorless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tink517

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States