Chunky Corn Chowder (Vegan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nana To Ten
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I used a package of frozen corn, coconut milk and instead of flour used corn starch, and just a dash of cayenne. Thanks for this recipe, it is a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana To Ten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very easy to make and tasty. I added a little extra pepper, but kept everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Fantastic! Also great using almond milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Great! So tasty and filling. I prefer to thicken using corn starch, so did that. It was my very time using soymilk, and very happy with it. Thank you for sharing. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I absolutely loved this dish. I did add a couple stalks of chopped celery and some vegan chicken flavored bouillon cubes for a little extra flavor. I also added a bit of salt. I believe next time I will go a little easier on the garlic powder., maybe a tsp instead of tablespoon. I ate 3 bowls and it warmed my tummy. My husband is not vegan but he enjoyed this also. Thank you so much for the recipe. Oh, I left the red skin on the potatoes for a little extra color and nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I am vegan, and my husband is gluten free. I substituted a few things: coconut milk for soy milk, and gluten free flour for flour. I also added extra garlic and some sage. Fresh parsley really did the trick too. Due to the xanthan gum and cornstarch in the gluten free flour, I ended up adding an extra cup of vegetable stock. I will add some Phoney Baloney's Vegan Coconut Bacon (also gluten free) once my next shipment comes. VERY DELICIOUS CHOWDER, AND I AM PICKY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Almond milk in place of soy makes for a creamier broth, plus a tablespoon of corn starch. The trick I use to add a kick is Old Bay seasoning...AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I tried this recipe last week.... My daughter asked me tonight if I could make it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is a good recipe - healthy, tasty and easy to make. I added potato/carrots into half cooked onion/garlic to keep the flavor and reduce one less bowl. The soup is a bit light so next time I will add more garlic and perhaps thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States