Chunky Corn Chowder (Vegan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This was absolutely delicious. Lots of veggies, creamy and hearty. Used 2c light cream and 1/2 cup 2% milk, so it wasn't vegan, but was vegetarian. Also, used frozen corn instead of canned, because I don't like canned corn. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Very good, however, the second time I made this I did add some other seasonings. I did add celery, 1/4 cup, thyme, and a pinch of red pepper. We did like the fact it was vegan. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountain Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This was tasty. Used some corn starch to create a thicker stew. Fresh cracked pepper gave it a nice taste. Needs a kick of some sort. I'm not a cook so i'm not sure what would help...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bronze123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I am vegan, and my husband is gluten free. I substituted a few things: coconut milk for soy milk, and gluten free flour for flour. I also added extra garlic and some sage. Fresh parsley really did the trick too. Due to the xanthan gum and cornstarch in the gluten free flour, I ended up adding an extra cup of vegetable stock. I will add some Phoney Baloney's Vegan Coconut Bacon (also gluten free) once my next shipment comes. VERY DELICIOUS CHOWDER, AND I AM PICKY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amber_eileen
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This recipe was pretty good and super filling, like another reviewer I added pepper to give it a bit of a kick. Very comforting and hearty dish. It was nice to have a vegan version of this classic as I've been vegetarian for a few years and am trying to make that vegan step and this didn't make me feel like I was missing out. I agree with the author that it does have a more...creamy broth taste, as opposed to a full out cream taste, but I appreciated that as I'm not the biggest fan of cream soups. Definitely worth a try! Makes a lot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was very easy. I love it as well as the family. It will be saved. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Almond milk in place of soy makes for a creamier broth, plus a tablespoon of corn starch. The trick I use to add a kick is Old Bay seasoning...AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I tried this recipe last week.... My daughter asked me tonight if I could make it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is a good recipe - healthy, tasty and easy to make. I added potato/carrots into half cooked onion/garlic to keep the flavor and reduce one less bowl. The soup is a bit light so next time I will add more garlic and perhaps thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
A really tasty, satisfying soup. I substituted 3 ears fresh corn for the canned, and fresh parsley for the dried. Also, I used half and half in place of soy milk (though no longer vegan, super creamy). I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IcarusAscending

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spearfish, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States