Chunky Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I totally agree with Lai and Dave, IMO this soup is "boring". Even Rachel Ray's "quick chick" soup is better. If I use chiken breasts they are simmered "bone-in" and removed in 20 minuets, bones and skin put back in the pot to finish making the stock. I also add a parsnip or 2 and you would be amazed at the added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oak Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This recipe needs fresh parsley root and leaves, fresh dill. I use chicken stock with a little added water... no bouillon because it adds too much salt. A little kosher salt is good to add. Or you can add a small amount of soy sauce to the soup instead of salt. Just remember that a little soy sauce goes a long way. The skin and bones of the chicken add a ton of flavor. Just remove them (along with the parsley leaves and dill if you choose) before serving, I happen to like eating the parsley and dill with the soup. You can also cut them up into smaller pieces before adding them to the soup so they can remain as part of the richness of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I am so tired of recipes that use chicken breasts. If you want REAL CHICKEN flavor, especially with all the liquid in recipes like this, you need thighs and legs. I can't understand everyone using bland old chicken breasts. Everyone loves my soups and casseroles and can really taste the chicken flavor because I ONLY use thighs and legs. If you want a good, tasty chicken soup use the better, tastier pieces of chicken. You won't believe how much better they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
My grandmother had a therapeutic chicken noodle soup recipe as well. It is similar to this one but tastes MUCH better by far. And I will tell you why. You first boil a whole cut up chicken with BONES IN and SKIN ON! this is the flavor of the whole soup. Don't use chicken bullion because you are just putting artificial flavoring in and too much preservatives. After your chicken is boiled, remove chicken from pot. Skim off fat. Cook all your fresh vegetables in chicken stock you just made. After veggies are tender, remove skin and bones from chicken (if desired) and cut chicken in small bite sizes to desired sizes and return chicken to pot with veggies. Cook as long as you like on stove. When cooking is done, boil egg noodles in separate pan with water. Only add noodles to bowl of soup when you want to eat. Keep cooked noodles separate in container and add as you eat soup. Keeps noodles from sogginess. Grandma' secret. There it is!! Wonderful yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Very nice recipe! Only think - I pre-fried the onions to a golden brown before adding. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Used this recipe as the basis for the soup I just made my family. My father just got out of the hospital and has to eat a more strict diet, so I've been making everything from scratch this week. I used the low-sodium chicken and vegetable stock I made yesterday instead of bouillon, added in some broccoli, cauliflower, and green peppers, and also used Bucatini instead of egg noodles (only because I didn't have any on hand). The house smells delicious and just cooking it made everyone hungry. Glad to use this as a great base for many different types of soups from here on out. Next time I have all the ingredients as written I will definitely write another review. Very glad to have another chilly day here in Florida so we had another excuse to make some soup. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Great Starter recipe. I also cut back the water we prefer chunkier soups. I also added some corn. I didn't have packaged noodles on hand so made my own noodles. I used the same dough recipe I use for homemade PA duch style pot pie ( many would say chicken and dumplings) but cut noodle strips instead of squares. The entire family thought it was great. I didn't have any leftovers and my husband informed me that he wants me to always make it this way with homemade noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
The only thing I did differently was instead of using 12 cups water (3 quarts) I used 10 cups of water. I like my soup a little thicker, that's all. Other than that it tasted great, and my man loved it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana1505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I made this on a chilly winter day and it was a hit with everyone! My boyfriend isn't a fan of peas, so I omitted the frozen peas and carrots and added more fresh carrots, celery, and onion. It seemed a little light on the herbs and spices, so I added more for flavor to suit my tastes. I thought the recipe would make enough to freeze quite a bit for an easy meal later (not that this is hard), but the crew left very little over and everyone commented several times on how yummy it was. I didn't think it was too watery or anything like that, I liked the consistency and this will now be my go-to recipe for my favorite comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jstack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I use bouillon granules (and chicken base) more than bouillon cubes, and the cubes that I used for this recipe had been in the cabinet for a while. Although they tasted fine, I think that's why the soup is darker in color than a traditional chicken soup (impact on appearance only). I used peas only, rather than peas & carrots, since this recipe already has chopped carrots. From an eye appeal perspective, IMO sliced carrots would look better in this soup. I did cut back on the water, omitted the salt because of the bouillon cubes, and after tasting when cooking was complete, added some parsley flakes and a little bit of marjoram. Pretty nice chicken noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States