Chunky Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
This is the best ham, potato, and cheese soup I have ever had!!! It was so easy to make and tasted wonderful! It was a hit with my husband and son. I used Velveeta cheese in place of the shredded cheddar because I did not have any cheddar. It was so nice and creamy and full of flavor. Definately a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
My husband loved this. I simmered the ham bone and used the broth in the soup along with the ham pieces. I didn't add any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This is my favorite soup of all time. The only change I made to the recipe is that I used chicken broth in place of the water to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I followed it exactly and it turned out great! I cant even think of a way to change it unless you are counting calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is a crew-pleasing way to use up post holiday ham with minimal effort. As with most cheese based soups, I added some cayenne for a warming effect. Topped the soup with green onions and (more!) cheese and this was gone in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
this is really really good as is...no need to add a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ferrellcat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
The only rerason I'm giving it 4 stars is because I have added some processed cheese as some reviewers suggested, trust me, it does give that extra creamy texture that this soup needs. Regardless - it was a hit, and I will definetly make it again. IMO best cheese soop on this site. Straight to my recipe box. Oh, and btw, don't overdo the ham, putting in too much will interfere with the rest of the flavours in this delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZatriX

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Yummy!! Basic ingredients and easy to make. If you like cream/cheese soups then this is a must. The ONLY change I made was 1/2 velveeta and 1/2 cheddar. Thanks for the great soup recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Hallows

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was a good way to use left over ham. My situation was similar to the previous poster, I needed to make 12 servings and I did not have celery. So, I substituted the salt for celery salt but only added two teaspoons (for 12 servings 2.5 tsp was indicated) of this. The ham I used was leftover shank I had in the freezer - no bone, I used that for ham and bean soup, and I did add a bit more than the recipe states. I also added a little more water than called for because I wanted to simmer it longer. I also had to substitute some of the cheddar cheese for american and mozzerella. All in all very good, and simple to do in a pinch. Note: my soup looked more orange and 'cheesy' than in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gibsonburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Wow! This is super nummy!! I recalculated for 12 servings, and made exactly as indicated. The only change I made is using a pinch of celery seed instead of chopped celery as I was out. I was looking for super simple so the other change I made was to put the water and vegies in a crock pot on low from approximately 9a-4p. I had my daugher turn the crock off at 4 when she got home from school (could have left it on low for the extra hour until I got home as the vegies were a little crunchy, so just depends on how you like your vegies...a little more crisp or a little softer). When I got home, threw in the ham and finished the rest of the recipe. Then turned the crock on high for about 45 minutes while I ran and got my other daughter from after school activities! Super Easy and this is one of the best tasting soups I have ever eaten! We will definitely be making again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States