Chunky Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
very good and it didn't make a huge amount which was good. I added extra cheese later for more cheesy flavor and crumbled up cooked bacon as I didn't have the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
I love that this recipe uses real cheese instead of process cheese food. It tastes wonderful and is easy to fix. My whole family loved it, even my husband. I'll be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
This takes a little preparation but is SO worth it. Easy ingredients and delicious soup that's great for leftovers too! Very filling and is always gone quickly in our house! Kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
This is the best ham, potato, and cheese soup I have ever had!!! It was so easy to make and tasted wonderful! It was a hit with my husband and son. I used Velveeta cheese in place of the shredded cheddar because I did not have any cheddar. It was so nice and creamy and full of flavor. Definately a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
I like this recipe because you can add whatever vegetables you want and it still tastes good. Next time I will try Velveeta to make it even more cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This was very delicious! I adapted it to make it vegetarian by leaving out the ham and adding curry & a little cayenne to the simmering vegetables. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
This is really great. I didn't have any ham at hand, but I substituted smoked turkey and it still turned out fine. I made this for myself, but my mom came by and tried some...and then took what I had planned to be leftovers. But tis a compliment nonetheless. Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
Great warm, creamy, comforting soup. I served it with lightly toasted garlic bread for dippers. YUM! My roomate told me it's the same soup that is served at the ski hill here. Next time I make this, I'll chop my veggies larger to give the soup a more chunky effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
great soup, very hearty! i also made mine a veggie version just by omitting the ham, but it was still fantastic! a tad salty, but i think that might've been my fault. to be on the safe side, i would just be sure to add salt to taste at the end instead of throwing it in with the veg in the beginning. i also added more pepper, but again, that's probably suited to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I had some leftover kielbasa on hand, so I used that in place of the ham. Oh my gosh is this some great comfort food. This made a huge pot and it didn't make it for my lunch the next day *sigh*.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States